The Higher the Heel…

Carlie Madlinger
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
2 min readJan 23, 2017

With one minute to spare, I sprinted down the steps at Penn Station. As I hopped onto the train, the doors closed quickly behind me. With my heart beating exuberantly, I tried to catch my breath. I looked down at my black suede rhinestone heeled booties and knew that without them, I would’ve missed my train back to Montclair State.

I know what you must be thinking… Running? In heeled shoes? In Manhattan?!

Well, I am proud to say, this is a typical scenario that comes my way, (however, I am usually much more punctual.)

I admire all of the diverse items that fill my closet, each one pays homage to my personality and style. From my two inch heeled leather booties to my gold six inch platform heels, each pair of shoes that I own are unique and ideal for a specific occasion. However, these black suede rhinestone heeled booties are a pair of shoes that I cherish immensely and seem to be a great companion for where ever I go.

As a gift from my mom for my sixteenth birthday, she said, “I feel these shoes epitomize your style. They resemble who you are.” I carefully opened the shiny black shoebox and automatically fell in love. The chic black suede makes this shoe a great accessory for every ensemble. Contrasting with the subdued suede, the edgy rhinestone encrusted heel makes each step I take sparkle.

Besides their distinct, yet classic look, I find these booties to represent so much more than just beauty. Heeled shoes in general exude strength. I find myself to be my most confident when I am wearing a heeled shoe. The extra height makes me feel as if I can conquer any challenge that comes my way, (I mean, let’s face it, walking in heeled shoes and trying not to fall is an accomplishment in itself).

For years, I was afraid to express my style. With heeled shoes, I can stand tall to display my ensembles and who I am proudly to the entire world.

The higher the heel, the happier I am.

Today, one would rarely catch me in flats (unless they’re my running sneakers).

While I would much rather miss my train just to stay in Manhattan, these black suede rhinestone heeled booties will always get me where I need to go, confidently and in style.

--

--

Carlie Madlinger
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State

Currently a Sophomore at Montclair State University. Fashion enthusiast, most likely found in Manhattan.