The Item of Clothing that I Cannot go Without

Giselle Tergevorkian
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
2 min readJan 24, 2017
Photo taken by Giselle Tergevorkian

My go-to item of clothing would most definitely be flannel, button down long sleeve shirts. Many of them that I wear have the classic checkerboard design, and have a variety of colors, from the bright blues and greens, to the neutral colors of brown, black, and grey. The colors that I wear reflect on my mood for that day. If I am going into the day with a positive attitude, then I will probably go for one that has brighter color to it. But for those days that I am feeling totally the opposite, thinking that the day is going to be dismal and boring, then I would normally wear a flannel that has darker color patterns.
I often buy these shirts in a medium size, because I favor clothing that is loose and breathable, rather than tight and scorching. I usually buy them when they are on sale or clearance, only having to pay around ten to fifteen dollars for one, because hardly anyone pays for clothing at full price these days. What I find convenient about this item of clothing is that they not only make perfect tops, but also great jackets for that weather that is just perfect, but not hot enough outside to expose a lot of bare skin. I wear them quite a bit in the warm summer weather as well, because many of the flannels that I own can pair perfectly with jean shorts and a tank top.
My love for the style of flannel shirts aroused because I saw many men wearing this type of clothing, as either a shirt or an overcoat, and I loved how it gave off an effortless, and casual appearance. I also liked how the different colors on the shirts complemented each other very, giving off a sort of vibrancy to them. After a while, I noticed that flannel shirts suddenly came in style for women, and I started finding them everywhere in stores such as Hollister, Aeropostale, and Abercrombie. I then bought plenty of these shirts to change my appearance of always wearing old sweatshirts so I could give myself more of a fashionable and casual appearance. When I was growing up, I was very tomboyish when it came to fashion, because I never wore lacy dresses, skirts, or bright colored tops. I often wore simple blouses and tee shirts, usually with a pair of sweatpants or jeans. But when I finally started wearing my dearly beloved shirts, I felt that it expressed my personality of looking risky and boyish, along with adding a hint of style to my wardrobe.

--

--

Giselle Tergevorkian
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State

Hi I am an English major at MSU and contemplating on minoring in jouralism. I love to read novels and graphic novels. Hoping to be successful someday!