The sweater of all sweaters …

Beata F. Snelling
2 min readJan 24, 2017

--

The Infamous Grey/Black cardigan over the years

Before I realized that neutrals and black would become a staple part in my choice of wardrobe, I purchased a big grey/black knit cardigan from Forever 21 a couple of years ago. This sweater has seen a couple of things, the snags and re-sewn sections can surely tell you that.

I’ve found that over the years, while finding my sense of style, I did too much. I’ve gone from boho, to gossip-girl-inspired, to dressing up and styling my mom’s vintage pieces. I’m sure I looked somewhat nice but it wasn’t until my senior year of high school, where I just decided that I kind of didn’t care anymore.

I just wanted to be comfortable without looking homeless. Believe it or not, that’s where my real evolution began. I stopped trying to please people or keep up with what everyone else was wearing. I still kept up with fashion, I still dressed up when I had to but I learned to be comfortable AND cute, giving myself the best of both worlds.

In that discovery, I became seriously attached to a pair of brown motorcycle boots that simply went with everything … that’s another story though. I came into college and because it was a whole different world, I had to find my style again.

Not exactly sure what that meant for how I looked but at the end of the day, I just wanted to remain comfortable. What that became was jeans and big sweaters. How I made that look cute? One word. Beanies. I ended up looking more hipster than I planned. Regardless, I slowly began to truly come into my own with a minimalist style and I somehow evolved the jeans and big sweaters into other outfits with the same concept.

The cardigan describes me in many ways, very simple, very cozy and warm, still cute and overall reliable. Through the many trials and tribulations, my big grey/black cardigan still remained along the way developing its character. Without trying, that cardigan has been a part of my outfit in many of my fondest memories.

I’ve dressed it down, I’ve dressed it up. I’ve worn it to just about any type of function you can think of. It’s just that kind of piece. It’s special, tears and all.

--

--

Beata F. Snelling

A Staff Writer for Seamless Magazine at MSU. Also a libra and moon enthusiast. A lover of music, fashion, frenchies and instagram.