These Jackets are the “Bomb”

Kerianne Vianden
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
2 min readJan 23, 2017
Metallic bomber worn by Montclair journalism student Kerianne Vianden. Credit: Paula Popok

One of my favorite articles of clothing to wear just recently made their big debut in the fashion industry. Bombers, which are lightweight jackets, started showing up in stores more and more over the course of last fall, and now are taking center stage in every glass window display.

What makes bombers appealing to me is that they take the leap from ordinary jacket to fashion statement. Although there are available in solid colors, often times they are either a metallic shade, covered in faux fur, display unique embroidery, or behold any other standout quality. It’s no wonder why stores like Forever 21, Zara, and H&M are stocking their shelves with every variation possible; they are ideal for throwing on when there’s a slight chill in the air, or for layering underneath a heavy winter coat in the colder months.

Vianden wearing her favorite wardrobe piece- her first bomber. Credit: Paula Popok

After purchasing my first bomber last summer, which sports a shiny pinkish-bronze color, I wore it almost every day for two months straight. It is a staple piece to every outfit- all eyes are drawn to the jacket that almost exactly resembles the look of a brand new penny. I think this fashion choice says a lot about me- I like pieces that are bold, that stand out, that make any ordinary outfit that much more interesting.

A majority of my closet is filled by tank tops and t-shirts, which I accredit to being a summer baby and constantly wishing it was warm all year round. This bomber is a blessing because it allows me to wear my unnecessarily large collection of tanks and tees throughout the coldest winter months. It’s fashionable AND practical? My two most desired factors when it comes to clothing.

My copper bomber sparked my obsession with this trend, and now I have five more that are equally as flashy and fun. No matter how much more I add to my collection (which undoubtedly will be an excessive amount), I think I will always come back to this one as my “ride or die” jacket.

--

--

Kerianne Vianden
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State

Journalism student at MSU that enjoys doing makeup, petting dogs, and eating Panera.