Possible Piano Keyboard Solutions for Travelers: Lightweight, Compact, and Affordable Considerations

--

A dozen or so of the best, lightest keyboards, suitable for travel.

“person playing electronic keyboard” by Martin Hexeberg on Unsplash

I’m writing this article today because I’m trying to figure out, as a piano player, what the best option is for someone who would like to be able to practice while traveling. I know everyone’s personal criteria would differ a good bit, but here’s what I’m after:

  • I’d like something lightweight, as it’s a huge hassle (on many fronts) to have to lug a heavy keyboard around. It’s tough for airline baggage reasons (extra costs, potential damage), for general travel reasons (limitations on carrying in various contexts, such as foreign airlines or buses where spaces are smaller), and for obvious physical reasons (heavy / cumbersome), etc. Ideally, for me, that means less than 10 pounds.
  • I’d like something with at least 61 keys. I mean, I’d love a full 88, but the size of these usually means that it’s going to preclude me from carry-on luggage in many cases. Also, most 88s are fairly heavy, as they have better action, which requires more hardware.
  • It should have (1) keys as large as possible (not micro / mini piano keys), yet (2) the unit dimensions should be as small / thin / compact as possible. I realize that decent weighted action is…

--

--