Bad Design

Samantha Sales
HCI (sy1415-1) | Bad Design
3 min readJun 15, 2014

--

As a student of Ateneo coming from Albay, I am to stay on a dormitory for it is geographically far from my home. I am currently staying in a dormitory . I've been staying in that dormitory for four years already. During my few months of stay in the dormitory I mistakenly thought that the switch near our room is for the doorbell. It is similar to what we have at home. The switch near our room is for the fire alarm. I tried ringing it because I thought it was a doorbell but I was reprimanded by our landlord that it was for emergency use only.

To avoid what had happened to me, the switch should be placed far from the room door or the switch should not look like it. They should have used the red box-type switch to emphasize that it is for fire alarm. They should also put a label.

Car Stereo

I would consider this as badly designed because of so many keys. The main function of this stereo is for CD and radio but what does the numbers 1-6 stand for. I hope that manufacturers would remove irrelevant keys. It can cause confusion to users.

Chevrolet Sonic Hatchback

I saw this car model on a showroom and I thought that I can cite this as an example for the homework given, so I researched for the car’s picture on the internet.

We are accustomed to a car door handle for the backseat to be located at the lower part of the window. The pointing arrow shows that this new car model has its handle aligned with the window and has the same color as the window. You can’t really see it at first glance. I guess if I were to ride this car not knowing where the handle is, I probably would enter on the passenger seat and crawl onto the back. In my opinion they should change the color of the car door handle to silver or any color except black for easy identification.

--

--

Samantha Sales
HCI (sy1415-1) | Bad Design

http://t.co/RY0a1qmuj7 friend.classmate.k-addict.proud V.I.P♛.,Sone.❤happy virus lover❤ previous Agnesian.solid Aquinian.proud Atenista.