Random Websites

Opinions

Kiara Penaserada
HCI (sy1415-1) | That Random Website
5 min readJun 28, 2014

--

My test users for this activity or assignment were my friends way back from high school. At first encounter, I asked them if they were busy. And because they were not, I asked them to try those websites. They asked me ‘Para sari aan?’ and the alibi I thought of that moment was for my project. I said to them that “Nihanap man sana akong ideas.” I let them try every website listed in the assignment. I have with me last Wednesday night 10 people at a friend’s house in Camella Homes. So after we have eaten our dinner, I asked them to try it out.

(Since 3 websites were only the required number, I only chose 3 out of 7)

  1. http://cavs.mit.edu/

My first test user was Ryan C. Cuatrona, a 3rd year Bachelor of Science in Digital Animation at Ateneo de Naga University. He is my friend and a very observant person. He is also very ‘maarte’ in terms of websites. Here’s his initial reaction to the website.

“Uno man aan ay, kasaraday baga niading font. Atang malalabo na niyana mata ko, nagkulog pa payo ko sa website na adi. Kasadit ya font. Kina baga di organize! Sai man daw kagibu niading site na adi ta jumabg3n ko!”

I don’t know if you can understand his words but it’s a Buhinon language which is our language in our hometown, Buhi. In Filipino:

“Ano man yan ay, ang liliit ng font. Malabo na nga mata ko, sumakit pa ulo ko sa website na ‘to. Ang liit ng font! Tapos hindi pa organize. Sino kaya ang gumawa ng site na ‘to kasi makakasaktan ko siya!”

I observed in his expressions that he was kinda irritable of what he just saw. I was laughing at him and said “Relax lang. Para naan.” And he replied back,

“La, isi mo dapat ana website magayon man ana pagkadesign. Ta dawa simple lang, ayos lang basta visible ana mga nakab3tang. Di arug naan na baga da man sana kamtangan. Dawa lagayon man ana mga nakab3tang dyan sa website, kung di mababasa yana mga dapat makabasa naan, di na lang kintana sira nagibo. Dapat isi mo aan ta IT ika. Hay!”

In Filipino:

“La, alam mo dapat ang website maganda ang pagkadesign. Kahit simple lang, ayos lang basta visible naman ang mga nakalagay. Di kagaya nian na parang wala naman halaga. Kahit maganda lahat ng nakalagay sa website na yan, kung hindi naman mababasa ng dapat makabas ng mga nakalagay diyan sa site, hindi na lang sana sila gumawa. Dapat alam mo yan kasi IT ka. Hay!”.

I also visited the site and Ryan was right. The font was really small at the center, it is very unlikely to read what was say there. After which, my friends also said it didn’t look good as a website. “Nalilib3ng kami bhe kin sari ag uno ana ibig saby3n yana website.” In Filipino:

“Nalilito kami bhe kung para saan at anong ibig sabihin ng website.”

2. highnoonholsters.com

My initial reaction when I opened the website was the site was made for BOYS. And that’s what Julia Nasayao, my second test user for this activity. She is my bestfriend from high school. She is studying at CBSUA in Pili, taking up Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education.

Amba, that’s what I call her, said that it’s very masculine. She said “Bhe uno man ading site na adi? Unoh3n ko man adi? Di ako tatao.” She said that she doesn’t know how to navigate to other linked sites. I told her to just explore and feel the moment. (hehe) After a while, she said that “Da consistency bhe ana site. Iba iba baga ana colors! Ana font pati. Kina ana background. Baga naover naman ana pagkadesign. Baga di pleasing sa eyes.”

In Filipino:

“Walang consistency bhe. Iba iba ang colors. Ana font pati. Kina ana background. Parang over na ang pagkadesign. Di na siya pleasing sa eyes.”

All that she said were correct in my opinion. I don’t like the color combinations. And there’s no consistency in the pages.

After she browse the pages, she said “Di ko bet la. Sorry! Tama na daw bhe ta masakit na head ko.”

3. http://www.pulcinella.ca/

My third test user was Patricia Kaye Lagante. She is from Ateneo also taking up BS in Computer Management and Accountancy. Twin sis is what I call her. She is a dear friend of mine since High school. She is a very silent person. I let her try the http://www.pulcinella.ca/.

At first I saw Pat smile and look at the website. I don’t know why. I asked her what was she doing. She said she was having a hard time to know what will she do to the website and she found it funny. “Twin sis, nalilito ako sa picture! Ano kaya ‘to? Help mo naman ako.” That’s what she told me. I said just go on. Try and explore.

And then after a minute or two, she said she’s done. “Hindi ko na talaga alam. Pinindot ko lang yung parang arrow (>) sa right tapos yun na. Hindi na ako makaalis. Nakakaannoy naman ang site na yun. Black and dark yellow pati and background. Though okay naman yung site, nakakalito lang. Pero please twin, wag ka gagawa nian okay?”

That’s the last words she said before we watch PBB All In at her house that night.

In this activity, I realized few things. Interfaces of websites really matter. And is very important. For us, IT students, we must be considerate and be selfless in doing such. Because it is our job, to serve the people with all that we can though softwares that we developed. And for us to achieve that, we must learn simple things like this. It is not important how great our design is, the most important for me is that the things we do are underastandable for the users. ☺

--

--