Introducing Stint

Charles Ma
HCS Builders Incubation Program
3 min readJun 20, 2020

What are you working on this summer?

We’re Stint — a digital marketplace designed to help connect college students with companies looking for freelance help on fixed-term projects. We’re currently live at wearestint.com, and are receiving beta sign-ups for freelancers and companies! So, if you’re a college student and have free time, come sign up! We’ll do our best to pair you with a stint from a company looking for your skillset :).

Our website!!

Our Team

Ledna

Linda Qin

Hey! My name is Linda, and I just graduated from Harvard concentrating in Computer Science (& Mind, Brain and Behavior) and a minor in Economics. During college, I discovered my love for design through leading creatives in conference organizations and solving people problems as a product designer at Instagram. I’m leading the product and brand development at Stint, and in my spare time, love to dance. Favorite food: bread.

Chorles

Charles Ma

Hi there! I’m Charles, a recent graduate of Boston University’s Class of 2020. While I was there, I studied Business Administration and Computer Science, and was an avid hackathon participator and organizer. I’ve been working mainly on the tech side of Stint, building out the backend for the website, and have helped out with business development activities as well. When I’m not crying over my latest bug, I’m usually throwing bricks on the basketball courts or tickling the ivories. Favorite food: KBBQ.

Clur

Clare Zhou

Hello! I’m Clare :) I recently graduated from Boston College with a major in Business Management (concentrations in Finance and Business Analytics) and minor in Philosophy. I spent the first half of college satisfying my love for theatre and acting, before discovering my interest in tech and pivoting to help grow BC Women Innovators Network. In my spare time, I love cafe hopping and being outdoors in the sun. I’m managing the business and operations side of Stint. Favorite food: homemade kimchi jjigae.

What are the goals for your project this summer?

The Stint team has three main goals for this summer:

  1. Product. After interviewing several startup founders, we’ve found that there is a need for on-demand freelancing work. We want to clearly define our market, and find where Stint can fit in. To support this, we also aim to finish the MVP for our platform, complete with fully-dressed freelancer and company flows, from initial selection to project completion.
  2. Brand. To gain a stable user base for Stint, we are currently exploring options to increase outreach and solidify our brand image. In the coming months, we hope to launch multiple marketing campaigns, and through additional product development and user interviews, hone in on a suitable persona to present to freelancers and companies.
  3. Learning. For all of us, this is our first startup, and as a result we’re constantly learning about relevant topics, ranging from product and market fit, to user acquisition and tech. Although our top priority is seeing Stint become a viable marketplace to facilitate student freelancer and business partnerships, it is also a catalyst for us to develop long-lasting skills. We hope that these learnings, as much as they contribute to the success of Stint, will assist us in our future endeavours as well.

If you’re interested in hearing more or just chatting about our product, please feel free to reach out at wearestint@gmail.com!

--

--