Smooth Journey: Flight selection UX

Melding visual design and UX principles

Hai-Dao Le-Nguyen
Hai-Dao Le-Nguyen
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2018

--

Problem

As a frequent flier, I’ve purchased flights from many different airlines — all with a different user experience ranging from frustrating to fantastic. To make it more complicated, I often switch from mobile to desktop and so forth when researching flight details. Different UIs have frustrated me and I wanted a fluid web experience as most people who book travel on mobile book through web.

Research

To better understand the flight booking process, I conducted competitor analysis with 5 airlines (WOW Air, Norwegian, Delta, Virgin, and Porter) and 3 flight booking websites (Google Flights, Kayak, Skyscanner). I went through the process of booking flights looking for pain points in the process and areas for improvement.

Through my research, I learned of the importance of information and relevant information to users. Overwhelming users with too much information like entertainment options and seat maps makes it harder for users to scan your website. I also learned about the importance of buttons like drop down menus, radio buttons, and optimal button designs for user experience. Consistent design and familiar interaction patterns help create a more efficient and enjoyable experience!

Cluttered experience = frustrated Delta customer :(

Combining some of the best elements of different airline websites I used (shoutouts to Porter, Virgin America, and WOW air!), I created my own responsive web flight selection process.

Design inspiration from competitors

Process

I chose this project to focus on clean design and basic graphic design principles like colour, typography, and balance. The typical layout of an airline website is columns, rows and buttons. I wanted to iterate on that structure and create a smooth, intuitive and efficient interface that felt modern and friendly. Using pencils, paper, Sketch and InVision, I built my own interactive prototype. (Try it yourself!)

Product flow

Initial screen and alternate date screen

My priority in creating this design was minimizing cognitive load for users. I narrowed down relevant information after consulting with users to what is displayed on the screen now. Users expressed that their informational priorities were dates, flight times (including layover times), and prices.

Return flights

Typography is central to the design of this website because it is predominately text-based. I went with the Lato family of fonts in black for their visual clarity, and modern curvature. I also used Material Design icons to convey and reiterate important concepts like departure and landing times.

Confirmation screen and dropdown menu

I used negative space as a contrast to colour in order to demonstrate relevant information like flight times. Colour was used to denote things of secondary importance such as pre-selected information and buttons. Tempered hues of blue were used as a way to create a friendly yet professional personality through colour.

Reflection

This was my first project in looking at visual identity and clarity through responsive web UX. Aiming for pixel perfection isn’t just an artist’s job — it’s how designers can help users understand the journey through a product. If I were to further improve on this design, I would love to add more iconography and animations. Let me know in the comments what you think of this design and how it could be improved!

--

--