The Spurs, A Family Novella

How San Antonio’s champions have shaped this Mexican American fan, and taught her about loyalty, friendship, and family

Priscilla Juarez
HeadFake Hoops
6 min readJul 15, 2020

--

Original art by Antonio Losada (Twitter)

It was the summer of 1997, Tim Duncan’s rookie year. I was 11 years-old and had recently started playing soccer. My dad had taken me down to practice at a local college behind our house. After a couple of hours of kicking around, we began to notice taller than average men walking out of a gym. My dad seemed excited, but I didn’t know what was going on. I had always grown up watching sports occasionally but being a younger girl, I never had much interest or even paid attention to any basketball leagues. I suspect my dad had some sort of idea the Spurs were holding their training camp there, so we walked over. That day was special for me; I was able to meet the entire 1997–98 Spurs, and thus began my love for the San Antonio Spurs, and the NBA.

The 1998–99 season proved to be one of the most memorable years for me. During this season, my dad would sell group tickets to his coworkers and our immediate family. Back then, the Spurs played in the Alamodome, which was a smaller and more intimate arena. My dad’s favorite place to sit was in the section in front of the large blue curtain. This section held what seemed to be about 15 rows. We would pack about 3 rows of friends and family members into that section and get rowdy. I don’t remember exactly how many games we attended that season, but I can tell you, we were in attendance for one of the GREATEST moments in Spurs history, known to all as “The Memorial Day Miracle.” It was May 31, 1999, and Sean Elliott would make Spurs history by attempting — and making — the wildest 3-point shot to solidify a Spurs win in Game 2 of the Western Conference Finals against the Portland Trailblazers. The Spurs would go on to win the series and eventually claim their first-ever NBA Finals title against Latrell Sprewell and the New York Knicks.

Jump ahead in time. I had just moved back from Dallas to live at my parents’ house in the Texas Hill Country. In 2006, the Spurs had suffered a devastating loss in the Western Conference Semifinals against one of our biggest rivals, the Dallas Mavericks. The Spurs had managed to dig themselves out of a 3-to-1 deficit only to lose Game 7 in OT. I remember this day like it was yesterday. A large group of my friends and I piled into a local dive bar in downtown Dallas. It was a known fact in my group of friends that I was a huge Spurs fan — and living in Dallas, this made me a target. We all watched as Manu attempted to block Dirk but ended up fouling him in the end. We all watched as Manu drove to the rim and missed that almost game winning shot. We all watched when Big Shot Bob was open in the corner. We all watched as Dallas won by 8 in OT. Yup, we lost and it just plain sucked. You know what sucks more though? Having a bunch of people who don’t even really like basketball laugh at you ’cause your team lost. Ha, well joke’s on them because the Spurs have more rings than they do. And I’ve watched them clinch every single one.

Like in 2007, when the Spurs had another run at the race for a ring, but had to get past Steve Nash and the Phoenix Suns first. This series went six games and was one of the weirdest playoff series I have ever witnessed but proved to be interesting. I’m talking near fights, technical fouls, suspensions, blood, and Suns fans wearing band-aids on their faces. My parents and I became extremely superstitious during this series. We sat in the same seats on the sofa and ate the same meals. I think it worked because the Spurs beat the Suns and advanced to the NBA Western Conference Finals to play the Utah Jazz. In the end, the Spurs would beat the Jazz in 5 games. I am certain it’s because of my family and I. Thanks to us, the Spurs would advance to the NBA Finals for the third time.

Next up was LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers. Back then LBJ wasn’t fully the powerhouse he is today. I mean don’t get me wrong, the guy was very good but he had no ring, and no Ray Allen. The first three games of this series were rather easy; we knew we had a potential sweep on our hands. So, mom, dad, and I agreed we would travel 45 minutes west on I-10 and head to San Antonio to watch Game 4. The plan was to stop at a bar and watch the Spurs hopefully close out the series. It was close at times, but in the end the Spurs prevailed and successfully swept LeBron James. This brings me to one of my other favorite memories: honking downtown. If you’ve never experienced your team winning a championship, I’m sorry. If you’ve never experienced your team winning a championship AND gone honking afterwards, I’m REALLY sorry. We laughed, we smiled, we cried tears of joy, we celebrated.

To this day, I still have my 2007 Spurs Championship beads hanging in my rear view mirror. I cannot begin to explain to you what it feels like for your team to win a championship, especially after a devastating loss like what happened in 2013. That was one of the worst basketball memories for me. It could be because I watched Game 6 of the NBA Finals vs. The Miami Heat live at the AT&T Center. It could be because with 7 seconds left in the 4th I was already celebrating in the aisle. Or it could be because we lost Game 7 and I walked out of a bar in downtown San Antonio crying. Either way, the ending of that season was devastating, and to this day I still can’t watch or even think about Game 6 without feeling some sort of pain in my heart. I gotta say, it’s probably a bit weird for someone to be inconsolable after their team loses and their season is over, but that’s me. Thank God the Spurs came back with a vengeance and won in 2014. I’m not sure they could have won if they hadn’t suffered that disastrous loss in 2013. So, I guess it was meant to be.

I’ve been a fan for most of my late teens and in my entire adulthood, and I’ve been blessed to be a fan of a team whose playoff record could technically buy alcohol. For Spurs fans, winning is a way of life and I often look at other teams and think, “wow, my team is legit special.” I can thank Gregg Popovich for this. He with R.C. Buford by his side, has helped jointly build one of the winningest sports franchises in history — not just in basketball. Since 1994, this duo has worked together to instill what is known as “Spurs culture.” This culture is made up of tough love, a no bullshit approach, and a love for comradery. And thanks to this culture, the Spurs have solidified their place in the books as one of the best franchises ever. Right up there with Russell and Bird’s Celtics, Magic’s Lakers, and Jordan’s Bulls. Dynasties.

In early 2019, I made the decision to become a first-time Spurs season ticket holder. This had always seemed like a dream to me or something that only rich white people could do. As a young Latina, growing up we didn’t have a lot of money, my dad worked a steady job, my mom worked a steady job but we definitely weren’t rich. So, when I had the opportunity and income to do this, I jumped all over it. I can honestly without a doubt tell you I made the right decision. Though my first time as a season ticket holder was cut short due to COVID-19, I’d do it all over again in a heartbeat. Just holding that seat feels right, and it’s a spot I’ve always had.

So, thank you, to the Spurs. You’ve been there for some of my happiest memories. You’ve helped me gain new friends, new hope, and without you I wouldn’t be the person I am today. Let’s get another one, let’s make this family bigger.

--

--

Priscilla Juarez
HeadFake Hoops

Lover of all things Spurs, the NBA, hiking&camping, and Topo Chico. @priskillya on IG