Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

Abby Whittington
The Rise
Published in
1 min readFeb 4, 2016

I hated the ending. Unless I missed something, it wasn’t clear. Why did Rick go into the desert? Is Rick the new Mercer? Why did Rachel throw his goat of the roof? Why does Iran think Rick cares about the Toad? Is reality a lie?

However, the rest of book was great. I liked the conflict Rick had with himself after becoming empathetic for an android and how that ended with a terrible conflict for him.

I also found it interesting that by the end of the book believes that even electric beings have a right to live. I think he mentioned it when refering to the electric toad in the last chapter. I feel like the rest of the book supported this final thought as he became conflicted with killing the androids who were just trying to live. The androids weren’t doing anything illegal on Earth besides being there illegally. They just wanted to get out of being slaves in the colonies.

The way the book was written, I think lead to the reader feeling empathetic toward the androids. That’s interesting because the reader can then connect with Rick on a deeper level as they are also experiencing the unexpected empathy for an object that he feels.

--

--