Networking — That Fancy Term for Talking to People

Chloe Tedder
Headstorm
Published in
4 min readFeb 25, 2020
Crowd of people in building lobby
Photo by Product School on Unsplash

When I was growing up in high school, I was skilled in math and knew most answers when asked. But I was so shy to the point where I didn’t want to say the answer out loud, so I would whisper it to myself. The person sitting next to me would usually hear me and say the answer louder for the whole room to hear. That was fine by me, because I didn’t want the attention on myself. As someone who grew up as an introvert, talking to others was a dreaded task. The thoughts of what will they think of me, what should I say, how do I keep a conversation going always loomed in my mind. With that mindset, it made it very difficult to think about networking.

But for those who are introverted, Taking the Work out of Networking by Karen Wickre changed how I thought about introverts and networking. Wickre focused on the idea that introverts aren’t people who don’t want to spend time with others, but that introverts need their alone time to reenergize for when they do interact with others. To apply this idea to networking, she discussed how introverts have an advantage. They are better, natural observers and listeners. I now define myself as an extrovert, but from my introvert days, I find these to be very accurate statements. I loved asking others questions about themselves and finding out their interests and what drove them. This made for less time that I actually had to talk. So for all those introverts out there, you are actually good at networking.

In contrast, Wickre defined extroverts as people who get their energy from interacting with others and not needing much “alone time” in order to be surrounded by others. Extroverts already have that natural ability of communication and meeting new people. But, everyone always has to put in effort to grow their network so everyone can benefit from the idea of learning how to master networking no matter whether you define yourself as introverted or extroverted.

One reason so many people, myself included, don’t network is because they don’t have time. But that is just an excuse. According to Taking the Work out of Networking, mastering networking can be done with absolutely no face to face human interaction most of the time. One key way to network is by utilizing social networks and social media that has grown with technology. Using these sources can be to your advantage for that busy schedule that has you traveling every week, going to kid’s soccer games, catching up with friends, or participating in company events. With social media, networking can be simple and intentional. Keeping in touch with your network could be a simple and short message asking for a life update, sending a link to an article about an art exhibit that you think they might enjoy, or even sharing a cute dog video you know they would love to watch. All these take less than 2 minutes, but the meaning behind them is so much more. This shows the recipient that you remember them, you remember their interests, you are thinking about them, and you care about their life and how they are doing. One simple click can lead to a lasting influence.

By doing this you are keeping your “weaker ties” and loose connections for later down the road. Networking is something that should always be done. You never know what will hit you in life and you have to stay prepared for the worst. No one likes that person who you only hear from when they need something. Therefore, you have to keep in touch with your “weak ties” intentionally so they don’t feel you are just using them when you need favors. Keeping those loose connections can benefit you down the road. Be proactive and get out there and network.

The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.

If you want success and growth in the future the best time to start is now. Make sure the connections you make are genuine, organic, and meaningful, so that they can carry on for years. Whether you are introverted, extroverted or somewhere in between you can master networking.

What are your thoughts? Comment to let me know what methods you all use to network and keep up with others and if introverts let me know if this was useful!

Acknowledgments

Taking the Work out of Networking by Karen Wickre

--

--