How I Found Versatility In My Career: The Benefits of A Psych Degree

Derek Atchley
Headwind
Published in
3 min readOct 25, 2018

I vividly remember making edible cells in 6th-grade science class; A cell wall made from cherry pull n’ peel, M&M mitochondria, and chloroplast of green skittles. Even at that young age, I was fascinated by science. Learning about all of the complexities that exist within something not even visible to the naked eye began an enduring thirst for knowledge. My interest in the sciences continued throughout the rest of my academic career. I was drawn to psychology in particular, as I was tremendously interested in the brain and how it generates behavior. Going into college I fully expected to go pre-med and eventually become a psychiatrist.

I learned pretty early on that medical school wasn’t going to be for me, and set off to find a different path within the science realm. After discussions with my academic advisor and a lot of research, I discovered the field of behavioral neuroscience. A perfect blend of psychology and biology that seemed custom made to fit my interests. As a psychology major and bio/neuroscience minor, the next logical step was graduate school, conducting scientific research, and eventually, work in academia as a professor — but that didn’t feel quite right either.

In grad school, my time was split between research and teaching, and I felt that I wasn’t reaching my full potential in either aspect. I started exploring other career options, one where I could really focus my time and energy on one thing and thrive. One of the largest struggles in that endeavor was finding a job and a career outside of academia when all of my experience was in a university-based laboratory. I finally landed a job as a researcher for an executive search firm.

Just a few years ago, I would never have imagined that I’d be working in an office job and not a laboratory. However, upon further reflection, so many of the skills I acquired as a psychology major and scientist prepared me for success outside of the world of science and academia. I realized that one of the things I loved most about science can really translate into any industry. The scientific process involves the collection of data, a critical evaluation of the results, and then a revision of the initial question or hypothesis based on the results. That same process can be applied to almost any project or task in virtually any industry. As a researcher at a recruiting firm, I hypothesize the skillset a client needs, collect data and find candidates, and then re-evaluate the client’s needs based on their feedback and start the process again.

The versatility of a psychology degree has set me up for success in any number of settings. From the hard science background, statistics and data analysis, to an understanding of social relationships, my experiences in psychology have provided me with a particular set of skills that can transcend any field.

--

--

Derek Atchley
Headwind
Writer for

Derek is a Research Associate at JMJ Phillip Group. Looking to receive his MA in Psychology, Derek’s interest primarily lie within behavioral neuroscience.