Abiding in Christ

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey
4 min readJul 7, 2024

“Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.” (John 15:4)

Photo by Moritz Knöringer on Unsplash

This week in my spiritual journey, I would like to share with you a very powerful lesson that the Lord taught me.

Have you ever felt spiritually and emotionally depleted and had nothing left to give to those you were serving? That is where I found myself this week in the middle of a four-day weekend.

Even though I got plenty of rest and self-care, my whole system was in shut-down or energy conservation mode. I thought I could use some of this free time to catch up on some things in my business, but everything within my system resisted that, and I didn’t feel like doing anything. I also felt this agitation in my system that made it impossible to rest and relax. Have you ever been there?

One morning, I woke up too early for vacation and was dysregulated. As is my practice, I took my journal to our guest room and tried to sort out what was happening inside me.

For those of you who are new to journaling, the only way I know how to do this “sorting out” is to ask God to direct my thoughts, illuminate my mind, and free-write. Free writing is simply writing down whatever comes to mind without judgment or rules. Usually, after some time, a theme will appear that will resonate with what is happening in my soul.

This journaling session was no different. I realized that I felt depleted and had nothing left to give. I felt like I was pouring from an empty cup and spiritually dry.

I’ve been reading my Bible and doing my devotions, but it was more of a “check-the-box” activity rather than feasting at the banquet table of His Word. The Spirit reminded me of the verses in John 15:

Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. “I am the vine, you [are] the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. … “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. “By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples. (John 15:4–5, 7–8)

Self-care is not just about nourishing your body and emotions; it is also about nourishing your soul. For the believer, this means checking the connection between yourself and the Vine.

As someone with significant attachment wounds, I constantly struggle with ultra-independence, trying to do everything on my own…including filling my own cup. This is not intentional… it is habitual and something I am actively working on changing.

These verses reminded me that filling my cup was not my job. Rather, it was my job to abide in Him. What does “abide in Him” mean?

From a Biblical perspective, it means “not to depart, to continue to be present, to be held, kept, continually.” This connotes a continuous connection. My job is to not depart from Him, be present with Him, allow Him to hold me and keep me…continuously. That is all I have to do, and He will take care of the rest.

The branch, which is me, cannot bear fruit unless it is constantly connected to the vine. The vine gives the branch everything it needs to bear fruit. The fruit is not something the branch has to work to produce, but rather, a result of being connected to the vine.

So, how are you doing with abiding in the Vine? Are you like me, trying to source what you need to bear fruit in your own strength? Have you become so distracted by the world that you’ve ignored your connection or made it a ritual rather than feasting at the banquet table of His Word?

That is where I was this week, but I am so thankful for a gracious and forgiving God who is patient with His children as they learn to be more like Him.

Questions for Self-Reflection and Journaling

  • When have you experienced a profound sense of renewal after feeling spiritually depleted? What specific actions or insights contributed to this restoration?
  • How has your understanding of “abiding in Him” evolved over time, and what positive changes has this brought to your spiritual life and relationships?
  • In what ways has recognizing your tendency towards ultra-independence led to growth in your faith journey? Can you describe a moment when surrendering control resulted in unexpected blessings?

I would love to hear your comments.

--

--

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey

Leader. Advocate. Writer. Speaker. Coach. Mentor. Encourager. Trauma Survivor. My mission is to minimize the effects of trauma survivors in the workplace.