An Individual Calling

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey
3 min readJun 30, 2024

“For the gifts and the calling of God [are] irrevocable.” (Rom 11:29)

Photo by Vlad Bagacian on Unsplash

This has been a week full of spiritual lessons for me, so it’s been challenging to choose what to focus on for this week’s spiritual blog. I started another blog and almost got to the end when I realized that was not what I was supposed to write about today; rather, it was about me still processing something I learned from yesterday.

In my previous blogs, I’ve spoken about how being a Resilient Career Coach is a calling for me. This is not something I charted on my career path, but it is something the Lord has uniquely equipped me for.

As I look back over my life, I can see all the lessons that contributed to getting me to this place of service. This journey has been God-directed and very individualized.

As an entrepreneur, I am charting new territory, which can be very disconcerting at times. I’ve been through many training courses on how to be a coach, how to create a membership program, how to create and sell an online course, how to set up my business, and how to facilitate connection. These courses have informed and contributed to my journey, but I have not followed those training courses exactly as they were taught.

I had to take what I could use to help create the program that God called me to. In order to personalize it and make it mine, I had to step away from all those influences and learn to stand alone with God to realize the vision HE gave me.

It has strengthened my walk with the Lord because I get to spend a lot of time with my Mentor. In other ways, however, it can feel lonely when you are solely focused on what you are building and not on those around you.

With the formation of the new Global Trauma Institute, there was much talk about the opportunity for collaboration, which I was looking forward to because I was missing my coaching community.

Without getting into the details, I realized that our definition of collaboration was much different and that it was not going to work out as I had hoped. I was disappointed.

After talking to a friend about my disappointment, she said this was a blessing in disguise and definitely a “God thing.” She was impressed with my single-minded focus on building my business over the last several months (with ADHD, I can get easily distracted) and proud of me. She said that the opportunity for collaboration seemed to distract me and pull my energy away from that focus…and she was right.

While I believe there will be more collaboration opportunities for me in the future, in this particular season of my journey, I need to pay attention to the path that I am on so I don’t end up tripping over the rocks and roots that are part of this path.

God is my Guide and has been leading me every step of the way. He has been teaching me how to be a guide so that I can help others who are on this path.

God has an individual development plan for each of us. We are all different. Our Creator has equipped us differently. Our unique experiences have shaped us differently. He has a different journey for each of us to follow. That means we need to follow Him every step of the way and not let others divide our focus or get us off our intended path.

That is what I learned this week. Our journey is an individual journey, so I want to encourage you to follow Him.

--

--

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey

Leader. Advocate. Writer. Speaker. Coach. Mentor. Encourager. Trauma Survivor. My mission is to minimize the effects of trauma survivors in the workplace.