God Works the Nightshift

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey
4 min readOct 22, 2022

Who do you call when you face trouble?

Photo by Samuel Martins on Unsplash

Trouble is Inevitable

In this fallen world, we all experience tribulations. The Bible says in John 16:33, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

When we experience trials, tribulations, troubles, even abuse, and trauma, we should not be surprised by it. Unfortunately, it is part of this fallen world that we live in. I think sometimes we live in this fantasy world by convincing ourselves that if we live right, do good to others, obey God, go to church, and follow all the rules; no bad things will happen to us. That is a really nice dream, but it is NOT reality.

This is a bit of tough love, but we need to shake ourselves out of this delusion because we will become disillusioned and discontent if we don’t. The Bible says, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear in.” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

We are not the only ones that suffer. As trauma survivors, we often feel alone, like we are the only one that has gone through abuse or trauma. While our experience of trauma or abuse is unique to us, meaning we don’t all experience the exact situation, the experience of suffering is not unusual.

You are not alone

I’m sure that makes you feel great, right? [Add sarcasm here] I am not trying to downplay or disregard your suffering, but I am trying to normalize it for you. You are not alone in your suffering, and neither am I.

There was a time when I thought I was alone in my suffering, but I realized that was not the case. One day, I was meditating on God’s omnipresence and pondering that in light of my trauma experience. What does God mean when He says He is with you ALWAYS? Does it mean that He was with me during the dark nights of my abuse? YES! Does it mean that He was with you in your time of suffering? ABSOLUTELY!

Sometimes the pain of our suffering is so intense that it’s all we can focus on at the time, but that does not mean He is not there. Many nights, I wake up due to nightmares or anxious thoughts and am unable to get back to sleep. Even during those times, the Lord is with me, working the night shift. Spouses, friends, and therapists are generally not available at that early hour of the morning, but God is, and He yearns for us to bring our burdens to Him.

Support Services

Who do you turn to when you are going through difficult times? Is it God or someone else? Or maybe you only depend on yourself? As a trauma survivor with significant attachment wounds, my core belief was that I couldn’t trust anyone but myself to be there for me. Obviously, this belief does not align with scripture. Over the past three-plus years, I have learned to trust my therapist, but is she the first person I should turn to when experiencing difficulties? I don’t think so.

The Bible tells us that He is our shelter in the middle of the storm. He is our refuge and strength; a very present help in trouble. He is the one that speaks into the storm and says, “Peace. Be Still.” He is our Protector, Keeper, Shepherd, and Faithful Friend.

His office is ALWAYS open. His hours are 24/7/365. He NEVER takes a day off. He NEVER goes out of town. He NEVER tells us to leave a message. He is NEVER too busy for us. He NEVER puts us on hold.

So, who will you go to when you are in trouble? The one who is ALWAYS on call or someone else? When we realize that God is the only one that is ALWAYS available for us, it makes such a difference. I am not an expert in this area. He is not always the one I immediately turn to when I struggle, but I want Him to be. I want my immediate, knee-jerk reaction to be turning toward Him. How about you?

Psalm 142

“I cry out to the Lord with my voice; With my voice to the Lord I make my supplication. I pour out my complaint before Him; I declare before Him my trouble. When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then You knew my path. In the way in which I walk they have secretly set a snare for me. Look on my right hand and see, for there is no one who acknowledges me; refuge has failed me; no one cares for my soul. I cried out to You, O Lord: I said, ‘You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living. Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low; deliver me from my persecutors, for they are stronger than I. Bring my soul out of prison, that I may praise your name; the righteous shall surround me, for You shall deal bountifully with me.”

--

--

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey

Leader. Advocate. Writer. Speaker. Coach. Mentor. Encourager. Trauma Survivor. My mission is to minimize the effects of trauma survivors in the workplace.