Resting in the Lord

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey
3 min readJul 21, 2024

“Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, Because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass.” (Psalms 37:7)

Photo by iam_os on Unsplash

For many of us who have survived trauma, the concept of truly resting in the Lord can feel like an impossible dream. Our minds and bodies, so accustomed to being on high alert, resist the very idea of letting go and finding peace. We’ve spent so long in survival mode that relaxation feels foreign, even dangerous.

How can we possibly lower our guard when our experiences have taught us that the world isn’t safe? The constant vigilance, racing thoughts, and physical tension have been our faithful companions, our protective shields. Yet deep down, we yearn for that elusive rest, that promise of peace that surpasses all understanding. It’s a journey, friends — a challenging one — but one that we can embark on together, step by tentative step.

I have been in the messy middle of this struggle for the past couple of weeks now, which led me to overfunctioning and exhaustion. As someone who has a full-time corporate gig and is also an entrepreneur, I find it doubly hard to stop and rest. I told my therapist this week that I believed that if I stopped, something bad was going to happen, even though I could not articulate what that “bad” thing was.

We were never intended to work seven days per week, non-stop. Even the Creator of the Universe rested on the seventh day of creation. Did he do that because He was tired? No. He did that to set an example for us to follow. When He established the Ten Commandments, He officially implemented the concept of the sabbath of rest.

Jesus told His disciples to come apart and rest after they returned from their mission to heal the sick and cast out evil spirits. (Mark 6:31) Even Jesus got tired and rested during His time on earth.

What Does It Mean?

What does “rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him” mean? Let’s break it down.

“Rest in the Lord” suggests finding peace and comfort in God’s presence. It implies trusting in God’s plan and providence rather than relying solely on our own efforts. The concept of “resting” here is more about a state of mind and spirit than physical rest.

“Wait patiently for Him” encourages believers to exercise patience in their faith. It implies trusting God’s timing, even when answers or solutions aren’t immediately apparent. “Waiting” in this context is active, not passive. It involves maintaining faith and hope while going about one’s life.

In essence, this phrase is encouraging us to:

  1. Trust in God’s control over our lives and circumstances.
  2. Find peace in our relationship with God rather than being anxious or overly concerned with worldly matters.
  3. Be patient and maintain faith, even when God’s plans aren’t immediately clear or manifesting as quickly as we might hope.
  4. Avoid taking matters into our own hands out of impatience or lack of trust.

This concept can be particularly challenging for many people, especially those who have experienced trauma or are going through difficult times. It requires a deep level of faith and trust in God’s goodness and plan.

Our ability to rest is in direct proportion to our ability to trust God with the details. It’s not that I don’t trust God with the details; I do. The challenge is that, as a child, self-sufficiency became a coping strategy because I couldn’t rely on people to show up for me when I needed them. This is a habitual pattern of believing that I am working hard to change.

So, this week, as my husband and I take a trip to the mountains, I have set my intention to trust God, focus on Him, and do nothing besides intense self-care.

How are you doing with your ability to rest in the Lord? One step at a time, my friend.

--

--

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey

Leader. Advocate. Writer. Speaker. Coach. Mentor. Encourager. Trauma Survivor. My mission is to minimize the effects of trauma survivors in the workplace.