The Divine Workshop: How God Shapes Us Through Our Work

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey
6 min readApr 28, 2024

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” (Ephesians 2:10, NKJV)

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

Introduction

This week, I have been observing how the Lord uses the work He has called me to do to develop me spiritually. God doesn’t call the equipped; He equips the called. I want to share with you what He has been teaching me lately.

Planning for Open Enrollment

For the past couple of weeks, I have been working with my Virtual Admin (VA) on planning for open enrollment for my group coaching membership program, the Resilient Career Academy.

It has been a time of deep reflection and seeking God’s wisdom on how to approach opening the doors for enrollment in the Resilient Career Academy. The programs I attended to learn how to create a membership program and online courses taught from a scarcity sales model approach, and I know from the reaction of my own nervous system to receiving a ton of emails from their launches that this approach will never work with the trauma survivors I serve.

I don’t really have a model to follow for my business because, to my knowledge, no one is doing what I do…yet…and so I’ve been learning to follow God.

Following God’s Lead

Joshua 3:3–4 describes how the children of Israel were supposed to follow the ark of the covenant on their way into the promised land and leave a space between them and the ark.

“Yet there shall be space between you and it, about two thousand cubits by measure. Do not come near it, that you may know the way by which you must go, for you have not passed this way before.” (Joshua 3:4)

Just like the children of Israel, I have not walked this way before either, so I must leave some space before I take one step to see where/how the Lord will lead me.

Trusting God’s Wisdom Over Our Own

As business owners, we often try to take things into our own hands and do what seems right to us, but the Bible says, “A man’s heart plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9). I have been learning to trust God’s wisdom instead of my own.

“But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” (James 3:17)

Overcoming Resistance: Letting God Speak Through Me

The other thing I’ve been learning through this work is to let God speak through me. I have been experiencing internal resistance to being on video, yet I know this is the best way to reach my audience. Imposter Syndrome and self-doubt are real things that can get in the way of doing what we need to do if we let them.

The Real Issue: Authenticity and the Message

Yesterday, I spent some significant time with the Lord in a journaling session, trying to figure out what the resistance was all about. When we ask the Lord for wisdom, He gives it to us, and He did that for me yesterday. The Spirit gave me wisdom and discernment and illuminated the real issue…the message.

The resistance wasn’t about being on video but the words I was using. The copy I developed with the help of AI was great in that it communicated what I wanted to say but did not reflect how I would say it. It did not feel authentic to me, and authenticity is one of my core values. My system was resisting something that did not align with my core values.

Using AI to develop copy is much like my pastor using commentaries to help him with his sermon. It is a tool to help inform the development of the message, but ultimately, through deep study and seeking the Lord’s wisdom, he creates a sermon using his own words and surrenders his preparation to the Lord so that He will speak through him.

Trusting God to Overcome Our Inadequacies

This was a big “Ah-ha” moment for me. The Lord challenged me to speak to my audience from my heart and trust Him for the words. The challenge is whether I will focus on my own insecurities or on the Lord, who is more than adequate to overcome my inadequacies.

“Then Moses said to the Lord, “O my Lord, I am not eloquent, neither before nor since You have spoken to Your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue. So the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the mute, the deaf, the seeing, or the blind? Have not I, the Lord? Now therefore, go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.” (Exodus 4:10–11)

As I committed to trusting the Lord for the words to say, a huge weight fell off my shoulders, and the resistance I had been experiencing vanished. The resistance has been replaced with a burning desire to share my heart with my audience, and I look forward to seeing how the Lord will use my mouth for His glory.

Practical Applications

  • Set aside time for reflection. Be intentional about regularly setting aside time to reflect on how God might be using your work to develop you spiritually. Keep a journal to record your thoughts, insights, and prayers.
  • Seek God’s wisdom before making decisions. Seek God’s wisdom and guidance before making important decisions in your work or business. I encourage you to pray, study the Bible, and listen to God’s leading.
  • Embrace authenticity. Stay true to your core values and be authentic in your work and interactions with others. Check-in regularly with yourself to ensure that your actions and words align with your beliefs.
  • Trust God to speak through you. Trust God to give you the words to say when you feel inadequate or insecure. Rely on God’s strength and wisdom, rather than your own. God is faithful.
  • Be open to learning and growth. Approach your work with a growth mindset, being open to the lessons and opportunities for development that God may be presenting to you. Embrace challenges as chances to grow in faith and character.
  • Create space for God’s leading. Create room/space in your lives and work, just as the Israelites left space between themselves and the ark of the covenant. For example, set aside time for prayer, meditation, or solitude.
  • Share your experiences. Share your own experiences of how God has used your work to develop you spiritually. Start a discussion in the comments section or create a community where people can encourage and learn from one another.

Conclusion

God is always at work in our lives, using our experiences, challenges, and opportunities to shape us into the people He wants us to be. I encourage you to take a few moments to reflect on how God has been using your work to develop you spiritually. What lessons have you been learning? How have you seen God’s hand guiding you in your career or business?

I invite you to share your experiences and insights in the comments below. Your story may be just what someone else needs to hear to be encouraged and inspired in their own journey. Let’s create a community of support and encouragement where we can learn from and uplift one another.

Finally, I challenge you to take action based on what you’ve learned from this post. Choose one practical application that resonates with you, and commit to implementing it in your work and life this week. Whether it’s setting aside time for reflection, seeking God’s wisdom before making a decision or trusting God to speak through you, take that step of faith and see how God will use it to develop you further.

Remember, you are not alone in this journey. God is with you every step of the way, guiding and shaping you through your work. Trust in His plan, lean on His wisdom, and watch as He transforms you into the person He created you to be.

--

--

Cyndi Bennett
My Spiritual Journey

Leader. Advocate. Writer. Speaker. Coach. Mentor. Encourager. Trauma Survivor. My mission is to minimize the effects of trauma survivors in the workplace.