How to Relax

Michelle LeBlanc
healingjournal
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2024
My three dogs stealing my bed. I no longer keep my own covers on there because they nest in there and often poke holes in the covers from the digging. Brats. And I love them.

I take a page from the ol’ dog book when it comes to relaxation. They can sleep pretty much anywhere anyhow.

They are patient, snuggly, loyal, loving, funny, and un-self conscious. They just are and they are 100% one hundred percent of the time.

But me, I have my teas: detox tea, bedtime tea, stress lavender tea, immune+stress tea, calm tea, digestion ginger tea, relax tea. And I have my epsom salt baths: lavender or eucalyptus. I have my eye pillows, my yoga mats, my shiatsu roller, my roller ball, my TENS unit, my relaxing essential oil candles, and my aromatherapy essential oils.

Dogs can miss the mark entirely and be O-K. I love that about them.

Where I live, we have a pretty serious problem with dog abandonment (and worse I am sure happens as well which I don’t like to think about). So, I don’t mind spoiling my dogs a bit. They’re trained (mostly), but have their own personalities as well. They are all different and I do my best to ‘speak to them’ or understand them on their own terms — because they are all different. Also, two of my dogs are getting quite old now. It’s a short life for them compared to mine. Yes, it is a huge responsibility also — one which I take very seriously. But it was my conscious choice to take them in and now they’re family.

The ZEN of dogs is pretty cool. It instantly calms me. I feel down, I hug a dog and they always love it never fail … well, unless they want to play (but still usually let me get a hug in). Their snuggles are priceless. And foot warming qualities, well, let me tell you… the best. My dopamine takes a little leap every time I get a little dog smile. Are you grossed out yet by all the mushy stuff?! Mostly, they just make me smile from my heart and I calm down.

I follow a funny IG, can’t remember what it is now, but one said something like, “Yea, Every dead body on Mt. Everest was once a highly motivated person so maybe calm down.” And, it’s true! Often I need to remember to calm down, take a breath, get it done. Bird by bird as Anne Lamott’s dad once said.

If you are an animal lover, there are many dog rescue organizations that can help. In Austin, we have:

Like Pigs and farm animals?

Wildlife too. I saw a GIANT owl in my neighborhood the other day. One day it flew right over me while I was riding my bike to work and just the other day walking my dogs I saw it perched high in a tree.

It makes me happy to see wildlife. It’s just so rare. But with that in mind, I never use pesticides. Hopefully this owl will have some nice healthy mice to catch. And, as they say, watch your chihuahuas.

There’s probably more.

Trying to stick to my 5 minute rule a little better today. Over and out and hope you have a relaxing, yet productive, wonderful day!

--

--