I’m so glad I went to yoga

Michelle LeBlanc
healingjournal
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2024

Despite my massive anxiety attack yesterday, I’m so glad I went.

Why did I feel so anxious? It was a sort of new studio to me so I didn’t know what to expect. But that wasn’t it.

It was more like I had my mind on my to do list and my butt firmly planted in my chair with the blinds mostly drawn.

How I got out of the funk

First, I walked my dogs. Movement and changing the environment always helps. I needed to do it anyway.

Also, I hit the “BOOK” button on the app to sign up for the class. That was when the heart palpitations began. But at that moment I was committed.

I felt short on time. I told myself it was okay and that there would be plenty of time for all the things and that it would get done. So, I told myself, don’t worry.

That helped.

I took a deep breath. That helped too.

Sometimes I need to close my eyes. And research has shown that simply closing your eyes and shutting out the world for moments at a time can help ease anxiety as well as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and increase focus.

I imagine wanting the ability to concentrate on a person’s interest leads to achievement of goals — and in this case the goal was to get there.

Sometimes showing up is all you need to do. The universe will help you with the rest. Just jump in the flow and go.

(Even if it doesn’t always feel as simple as that!)

Hugs to all those out there who struggle with anxiety.

--

--