Rose colored glasses

Michelle LeBlanc
healingjournal
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2024

Five minutes a day. Can I wake up at 4 now daily instead of 4:45? How am I going to fit it in?

The challenge of changing habits to make a better you (me) plagues all of humanity on New Year’s Day. Yet we continue the tradition societally.

Some rebel. But it’s always the fringes of the Western world.

This year worldwide is filled with war and poverty and migration of those seeking a much better life. And we (I) worry about 5 minutes a day of a new habit that might make me better.

Is it a novelty?

Well, I have 2 minutes left to explain.

It is pursuit. And I (you) never know where it will lead. (Perhaps it will lead to me being a more efficient typist!)

Lately, I have found my new pursuits and following that thread has brought more color into my life. I strive to get my photons in the sunrise and complete projects that have been haunting me from under the dust (literally).

Perhaps my new 5 minutes a day could lead to somehow bringing peace of mind to someone far far away in a war torn land.

Moments, sometimes, are all we have. So I want to make them good, positive, pure, and full of love.

These are my rose colored glasses.

[Title in part inspired by a podcast interview between Dr. Huberman and Rick Rubin this morning while walking the dogs.]

Ah Ha! He’s even wearing them in the photo :) and no — no one talks about 5 minutes a day. That is just my NYR24: To write for (at least) 5 minutes a day. We’ll see how many days I can go.

--

--