Health. Fitness. Yoga.

Top 10 Beginner Yoga FAQs answered

Yoga explained by a teacher to help get you started!

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
The Gist
Published in
5 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Woman sitting in full lotus yoga pose
Image by Irina L from Pixabay

Have you been thinking about starting yoga but not known how? Maybe it all seems a bit intimidating? Perhaps you’re wondering about the details and etiquette of a class? Perchance the list of classes on the schedule may as well be in another language. Don’t worry! I’ve been a yoga teacher for over five years, and I’ve collected a list of some of the most common questions I get asked by beginners and have answered them all here for you!

1. I’m not very flexible; I can’t do x/y/z. Can I still come to yoga?

YES! YES! YES! Flexibility is a result of practicing yoga, not a pre-requisite. Saying that you’re not flexible enough for yoga is like saying you don’t know enough words to go to a beginner’s language class. You come to learn.

There are tons of excellent beginner classes, classes for specific requirements (pregnancy, for example), and many different yoga styles to try out. Most poses have options to modify or use props. Remember, too, you are in control, and you can sit a posture out if it doesn’t feel right for your body.

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
The Gist

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest