Intuitive Eating

Ritika Murarka
Health Publication
Published in
2 min readDec 23, 2023
Photo by Christina Rumpf on Unsplash

I have been battling with the thought of intuitive eating for a long time and I think I may just about attempt that. It’s something, which has not escaped my thoughts and because of that, I started going through my old pictures. Frankly I do not ever remember a time when I didn’t eat in a way that was unhealthy. Even when I was eating my homemade Ferrero dates chocolates, the thought was this nourished me, is healthy and is going to keep me fit.

I have never subscribed to the world of calorie deficit fully because weight loss / staying fit is not a zero-sum game. Hormones, daily stressors, the real challenge of being able to adhere to a natural diet of fruits and vegetables and complex carbs when our entire system/society is designed to advertise high calorie-dense meals equivalent to our daily intake, is extremely real. Plus, its a very solitary journey sometimes and requires high amount of discipline.

I believe in a balanced approach to eating, and intuitive eating seems to offer just that. It means eating when you're hungry and stopping when you're full, without labeling foods as good or bad. Instead, you let your body decide what it needs. I suggest trying this approach in moderation. It's okay to indulge in a pastry once in a while or have a burger and fries once a week. However, if you have an all-or-nothing mindset, this may not be the best approach for you. I don't want you to develop health issues. But if you're disciplined, know when to stop, and enjoy a balanced approach, then join me in the world of intuitive eating. We celebrate all foods, but prioritize fruits, veggies, and healthily cooked home meals.

Celebrate intuitive eating where hunger and fullness cues are respected and our bodies are valued.

Love and Light

Ritika ❤

--

--

Ritika Murarka
Health Publication

Blog Bday- 16th November, 2023. I want to write about things that move me & I enjoy along with self development, travel & healthy lifestyle. Follow/ Subscribe❤️