Mathematical Biology

Blood, Trees, And Electricity

And how the three are connected

TheUnknownDoktor🐙
Health and  Science
Published in
6 min readJul 29, 2024

--

The best thing about my medical college was its proximity to Nature. Though it was situated in a city, the lush green forests on the mountains were just a two-hour drive away.

We would often jump the walls of the campus (weren’t permitted to spend the night elsewhere without permission), hire a car on rent, and vroom our way out of the city.

The asphalt would give way to the rough, tumultuous terrain of the hills, and my eyes wouldn’t stop gawking at the beauty of the trees.

That's me trekking (Source: Author's own image)

These wooden creatures are a paradigm of mechanization in biology. Crafted by Mother Nature herself, who outshines the best of the MIT graduates. A paragon of exquisite brilliance in action.

A tree I captured on Devkund Trek, Maharasthra, India (Source: Author's own Image)

The effortless functioning of the woods betrays an ingenious artistry at work. A complexity beyond reckoning and a marvel transcending contemplation. So much so, that you won’t believe what I’m gonna reveal.

What if I tell you that there is an easy way to measure the total cross-sectional area of all the petioles combined.

--

--

TheUnknownDoktor🐙
Health and  Science

DoctorđŸ©ș Evolution| Zoology| History| Medicine| Psychology| Linguistics❀ When I have nothing in mind, I read. When I have too much in mind, I write.