Reading | Brain | Learning

How Does Reading Affect Your Brain

Let me explain the WHY part.

Sufyan Maan, M.Eng
Health and  Science
Published in
5 min readFeb 16, 2024

--

Image via Vecteezy

Whenever you read a book or have a conversation, the experience causes physical changes in your brain.— George Johnson

I love to read.

I fell in love at a time I don’t even remember.

I grew up in a tiny remote village where most people were farmers, and 99% of the farmers never went to school.

My father somehow did some schooling and joined the police force. I was lucky that he used to read a lot, pretty much all the time.

He loved fiction. However, he never encouraged me to read what he used to read but always encouraged me to read textbooks.

Sometimes, I used to keep his novel inside a textbook to enjoy the taste of a story. Fiction has the power to take you anywhere, and if the writer is good at storytelling, you feel like you are one of the characters.

The second most important reason I love reading is my physical structure. Yes, you are right, my physique. I used to be skinny and tall at a very young age.

As you may know, farming in underdeveloped countries is a physically demanding job. Therefore, in the early sage, I forced myself to study; to study more, you…

--

--

Sufyan Maan, M.Eng
Health and  Science

Exploring my curiosity and sharing what I learn along the way. | Join my Newsletter https://sufyanmaan.com/newsletter/