Remarkable Cheat Day

This Is The Guilt-Free Way I Broke 3 Low-Carb Rules

Eileen Dame
Health and  Science
4 min readJust now

--

image of the author’s old hand and homemade crackers

I went a little crazy yesterday.

Might as well confess right up front:

  1. I snacked.
  2. I binged on treats.
  3. I ate chocolate. Real chocolate. Chocolate made with the S word: sugar.

I am not proud of this. But I’m not wearing a hair-shirt, either.

Here’s what happened.

Post-Hosting Indulgences

After a weekend of venue-hunting, the mister and I drove my darling daughter, her fiancé, and her fiancé’s sweet mother to the airport. Upon returning home, I curled up with a big bowl of leftover stew and took a long well-earned nap.

When I awoke, I plated a double serving of cheese and crackers, followed by two chocolate peanut butter shortbread cookie bars and half-caf coffee. Later, I tucked into a bowl of mixed nuts before watching an episode of The Unforgotten with the mister.

In short, I ate all day long.

I wasn’t eating because I was hungry. I wasn’t hungry. I was 100% indulging myself after a successful weekend of hosting my future in-laws and all that entails: house-cleaning, room-primping, grocery shopping, treat baking, bulk cooking.

Against one of the cardinal low-carb rules, I was snacking. To be completely honest, I was eating as a reward.

Against another cardinal low-carb rule, I was not minding my portions. I ate what I wanted…and then returned for more.

Borderline gluttonous.

Clean Low-Carb for SAD People

Did I feel guilty? A twinge. A very tiny twinge. Very tiny. Because the good news is that everything I indulged in was from my clean low-carb repertoire.

Get this:

I had Standard American Diet (SAD) houseguests all weekend, a house full of SAD family and friends in the evenings, and I served only clean low-carb food.

And no one died.
No one even complained.
In fact, recipes were requested.

Yes, offering only my clean low-carb food required a little more planning than potluck or pizza, but it was so worth the effort.

Three benefits:

  1. I ate clean low-carb all weekend, per usual.
  2. I introduced others to clean low-carb food without fanfare or comment.
  3. Any leftover food was clean low-carb.

So even though I broke the no snacking rule and the portion control rule on my collapse-and-cheat day, I have virtually no guilt. Also no seed oils, no sugar, no flour, no additives. Just delicious clean low-carb food.

The Dark Chocolate Reminder

Okay, I said virtually no guilt.

Full disclosure: I did offer my guests one high-carb treat. In addition to water bottles and shelled pumpkin seeds, I placed Dove Dark Chocolate Promise candies on my guests’ bedside tables.

When I moved to change out the linens, I saw that…a few chocolates remained.

Against perhaps the top cardinal rule of low-carb eating, I knowingly and intentionally ate s-u-g-a-r.

I did. I dove into the Dove Promises. Just two. Nearly a day’s worth of carbs in those two bites alone. Clear violation of clean low-carb eating.

Two observations.

First, although I certainly enjoyed those chocolates, I did not enjoy them as much as I had expected. Even the dark chocolate was too sweet. I remember these as being amazing in my former SAD life. They were not. They were simply…nice. In future, I’ll easily remember that these are not worth the carbs.

Second: I was hungry an hour later. I was hungry!

I am rarely hungry these days. I eat to nourish my body, and I choose food that I enjoy eating. But I am never plagued by hunger. Those Promises triggered a powerful reminder: carbs make you hungry.

SAD souls don’t know the freedom from hunger we low-carbers enjoy.

Conclusion: A Lesson in Indulgence and Freedom

I know I preach. A lot.

But I am not perfect, and I don’t claim to be. That’s one reason I wanted to share my binge day with you.

However, even a cheat day can be a good day. Yesterday’s excesses were a reminder that we experience limited — no? — guilt when our treats are clean low-carb.

And my li’l stumble with the chocolates quickly reminded me of the big fat carb lie: Carbs don’t feed my body, carbs fuel my hunger.

I can make choices that serve my body, even when I’m indulging myself. I can remain free from hunger when I choose to remain free from carbs. I can, and I usually do. Usually. Progress, not perfection.

How about you?

Stay strong, wise, and good!

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, not a scientist, not a nutritionist. I am just a late boomer sharing what I’ve learned on my journey to good health through good food.

--

--

Eileen Dame
Health and  Science

I am a late boomer spreading the gospel of good health through good food. My bona fides? Beating back Alzheimer's through diet. And losing 30 pounds as a bonus.