Biology|Physiology

“There Is No Free Lunch,” the Muscle Told the Lungs

Learning why we feel breathless even after stopping the exercise

TheUnknownDoktor🐙
Health and  Science
Published in
7 min readJun 14, 2024

--

The moment I dropped the barbell, having deadlifted my mood from rock bottom, I struggled to accommodate more and more air.

My chest swelled and dropped in a seemingly eternal trance while my heart banged against the bosom, punching it with vicious fury.

My head shed some weight as I felt my lights knocked out. I grabbed the end of my bed before getting consumed by the black-out altogether, and quickly took a seat, thus, narrowly avoiding the fall.

It took quite some time before I could gather my senses together. The breathing rate normalized and my heart reverted back to its silent pace. I grabbed my bottle and gulped down the water. Let out a sigh and felt alive.

Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

During exercise, our body’s oxygen demand shoots through the roof. This explains the heightened heart rate and the nitro-boosted respiratory rate. The normal levels just don’t suffice.

But why do we keep on catching our breath for a while, even after the exercise/exertion is stopped? What does it imply?

Welcome to the topic of oxygen deficit and oxygen debt.

--

--

TheUnknownDoktor🐙
Health and  Science

Doctor🩺 Evolution| Zoology| History| Medicine| Psychology| Etymology❤️ When I have nothing in mind, I read. When I have too much in mind, I write.