How a Pharma Ad Gave Me My Life Back

Devon Zdatny
Healthcare in America
4 min readJun 6, 2016

If pharmaceutical advertising is so evil, how did a 60 second TV commercial help cure what doctors couldn’t? — A liberal’s pro-pharma perspective

A Victim of My Own Body

At the age of 15 I developed crippling migraines that occurred multiple times a week. My neck would tense up and become immobile. My head would begin to throb, as my brain felt too big for my skull. Nausea would consume me as light and sound became the enemy.

I saw neurologists, chiropractors, acupuncturists, physical therapists, general practitioners, and orthopedists. I got MRIs, cat scans, X-rays, and blood tests. They gave me medication that made me useless, chiropractic adjustments that lasted a few days, and even a TENS unit to carry around all day.

For years, my migraines impacted my grades, friendships, and career. I learned quickly that when you say you have a migraine, people hear “I have a headache,” and assume you’re being overdramatic. I accepted that my life didn’t belong to me. It belonged to my migraines.

Salvation After Seven Years

One night I was watching TV and upon the commercial break my ears switched to half listening. But then something caught my ear: a commercial speaking to frequent migraine sufferers. It wasn’t the Excedrin commercials we are all fairly accustom to. It was for Botox.

This commercial, like many drug commercials, was about 20 seconds of selling and about 40 seconds of safety information. But it caught me at a truth that I could relate to: when you have migraines, your life is a game of chance.

I was stunned. No doctor had ever even mentioned this to me as an option before. I went online to do some research and was stunned by the success that people were having with Botox for Migraines. In addition to the access of information about people’s experience with drug, I was easily able to find a doctor on my plan, in my area who performed the procedure.

I made an appointment with Dr. Michael Hutchinson, and after a consultation he agreed that I was a perfect candidate for Botox for Migraines. A week later he performed the procedure, which was quick, painless, and covered by insurance.

It worked. The Botox lasts approximately three months, and during that time I am migraine-free. Every time I see Dr. Hutchinson, I can’t help to remark about how that commercial (and him!) changed my life.

To this day, I’m clueless as to why no neurologist before him had recommended Botox or why all of the literature I had read failed to mentioned it. I’m just happy to be free.

The Argument Against Pharma Ads

Last year the American Medical Association called for a ban on consumer-facing pharmaceutical ads. While the recent focus on this ban has been on affordable healthcare, other reasons for a ban include:

  • Misinforms patients before long-term effects are known
  • Stigmatizes normal conditions and promotes over-medication
  • Weakens relationship between patients and doctors

While I see the validity anti-pharma ad argument, and as a liberal, am definitely pro-affordable healthcare, I’m not sold.

The FDA approved Botox for Migraines about three years after I began to get migraines. This means that for four years my doctors failed to mention this option. Doctors alone should not dictate what consumers put in their bodies. We have a right to information about all of our options.

Not knowing all of my options held me back during what was supposed to be some of the best years of my life, while a pharmaceutical ad gave me my life back. We constantly disparage the drug companies for over-medicating and act like the doctors prescribing (or not prescribing) these drugs are faultless.

Even today, Botox as a migraine treatment is hard to find on many websites. Even on Mayo Clinic’s website, you have to read pretty damn far to even read a brief description of the procedure.

While we all may not agree on affordable healthcare, I think we can all agree (or at least most of us) that consumers have the right to information to take control of their own lives.

To My Fellow Migraine Sufferers

Migraines are a lonely affliction, so please know that you’re not alone. The people who shame you for missing work, the neighbor who rolls their eyes at you for asking to turn down the music, and the Bed Bath & Beyond employee who is annoyed by your questions about blackout shades, will all never understand what you’re going through.

If you get at least 15 migraines per month, I encourage you to read more stories about how it’s changed lives.

Disclaimer

This story was not sponsored, authorized, encouraged, or otherwise by my doctor or Allergan. This story does not reflect the opinion of my employer or the companies that they represent.

--

--

Devon Zdatny
Healthcare in America

A lady in the streets, a freak in the Excel sheets | First & First Consulting | Strategy & Analytics | Data Storyteller