Erica Schecter
Healthcare in America
1 min readAug 23, 2016

--

Thanks for the article, Sadiq. I love the advice to find what works for you and stick to it. I’ve been living with UC for the past 9 years (since i was 20) and one of the hardest things about being chronically ill with an incurable disease his how everyone and their mother professes to have a miracle cure for it. You’re right: there’s no miracle, just research, trial and error, and knowing your own body.

After 9 years of a new and improved Very Healthy Lifestyle and one year of remission, I’m being evaluated for Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and trying to come to terms with facing cancer on top of UC. I’m blogging about waiting on the diagnosis. If it is Hodgkin’s, I’ll be writing about what it’s like to be inducted into the Cult of Cancer after being chronically and invisibly ill for a decade: https://medium.com/@ejschecter/making-a-cancer-patient-f96489c67f#.yooubnrvw

Good luck and keep writing stories like these.

--

--

Erica Schecter
Healthcare in America

Writer and editor in New York. In 2016, at the age of 29, I underwent treatment for Hodgkin’s lymphoma. ericajschecter.com