HUMANS OF HEALTHSTATION— MARCH 2020

Parkway
HealthStation Nigeria
5 min readMar 27, 2020

Over the next months, we’ll be profiling some members of the team. This year, we’re starting with Samuel Imene and Chinwendu Amadi

Meet Samuel Imene O.

He is the Product Development Consultant; A graduate of Computer Science from the University of Benin, (UNIBEN). Samuel started out in Healthstation as a Field Technical Officer attached to the Project at Enugu State University Teaching Hospital (ESUTH). Besides work, he likes to share special moments with his family and loved ones.

Tell us a bit about your background?

I have always been a lover of creativity and business. This has been an inspiration and a drive for me to be better every day. In my early days, to support my parent, I had to hawk kerosene. Also, after graduation from the university, I went into the sales of female clothes; at the time, I was training in system maintenance and repairs. The dream was to give attention to the acquisition of knowledge and skills to be a sound businessman.

How did you get involved in IT and Health Technology Space and when did you join Healthstation Ltd?

I joined Healthstation Ltd in 2012 as a Field Technical Officer. Before joining Healthstation Ltd, I had run a clothing business but was at the time training in a Computer Engineering Firm. I have always looked forward to an opportunity to learn more about business development and to be a big part of providing solutions through technology-driven processes.

What has been the most interesting moment working in Healthstation Ltd?

To answer this question, I would like to recall an event that happened, I think the second week I joined the team. I was assigned an official Laptop and a desk space and one of the directors said to me “You have been given an opportunity to succeed, what you make of it is up to you”. So, the interesting moments spread across the opportunities to evolve and become better through the many projects we have embarked on over the years.

Can you explain the struggles/hurdles you’ve experienced at work?

I was privileged to have joined the team from the first project. To distinguish our services, we had to build the kind of support service/structure that was beyond the regular 8 am to 5 pm i.e. a 24/7 support running for 365 days due to the critical nature of the hospital. The pressure was so much but the team had to push through it.

Also, in the beginning, I knew Healthstation Ltd would be a household name, but then, the structure was still at its formative stage, and so I could not expect so much in terms of remuneration, however, I thank God that the vision and having some of the best directors who are more like a life coach to me gave me the strength to continue to push hard.

What’s one lesson you have learned?

I have learnt to be true to myself, to my purpose, and never to lose my values.

Joining the company a few years back, what has surprised you the most about your experience here thus far?

I am constantly amazed at the quality of leadership and foresight that we have continued to enjoy from our directors, team leads and pretty much everyone who takes on one responsibility or the other. This has reflected in the high rate of quality skills retention Healthstation Ltd has enjoyed.

What advice would you give someone who wants to work at Healthstation Ltd?

It is a great place to work, learn and earn. Healthstation Ltd places a high premium on values that contribute positively to every community we serve.

Where do you personally see Healthstation Ltd in 2 years’ time?

Healthstation Ltd is a company that has continually evolved over the years with innovative solutions to improve the experiences of patients, medical practitioners and health sector administrator and to make the society a better place for all. I think this is only the starting point for Healthstation.

Meet Chinwendu Amadi

Chinwendu Amadi is the DSO FMC Owerri, she is a graduate of Computer Science from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umudike,(MOUAU). When I’m not working, I’m reading or watching a movie. I’m also a beautician.

Tell us a bit about your background?

I love supporting others. When I was working in my University portal as customer care, to always help students with difficulty to navigate the system and achieve their goal, I don’t mind giving you a step-by-step process on how to achieve your goal.

When did you join health station projects?

I joined health station projects in 2019, ever since I joined Healthstation have been developing myself and learning new things.

What has been the most interesting moment working in health station?

Interesting moment for me is when I get to train some FMC staffs on how to use our software. I feel happy imparting knowledge to people and getting to learn more.

Can you explain the struggles/hurdles you experience at work?

Dealing with staff that doesn’t know how to operate the computer can be a struggle, sometimes you will be showing them what to do and they will want you to hold my mouse and do it yourself.

What’s one lesson you have learned?

I have learned to be patient and humble. Being patient can help you understand a point someone is trying to prove then you will know how to tackle the problem, and in other hand being humble can help you to learn more and build yourself in the IT world.

Joining the company a few years back, what has surprised you the most about your experience here this far?

I have the mindset of meeting strict a very strict boss, that will make you lose your confidence because of where I worked before but this company surpassed my expectations and make me realize that work can be your second home where you can relax your mind and work with no unnecessary pressure from your boss.

What advise would you give someone who wants to work at health station projects?

What I have to say is bring out yourself to work and your mind to learn because in health station we learn every day, we solve new problems, by solving the problem you are learning and when you are learning you are developing yourself.

Where do you personally see health station projects in 2 years time?

In 2 years time, I see Healthstation having a solid foundation in all federal hospitals and teaching hospitals in the country.

--

--

Parkway
HealthStation Nigeria

We are enabling innovation in banking and financial services across Africa.