How it Feels to Live With IBS: A Personal Journey

Hamnabano
Healthwire
Published in
4 min readDec 10, 2021

One of the main reasons for me keeping my IBS a secret from my foodie friends is to shadow the embarrassment that I feel. Nobody, among my peers, has any idea how it feels like to have an IBS attack, especially with diarrhea pouring out from you like the first rain of monsoon. I need to make several emergency rounds to the washroom in a day not knowing which end it’s going to come out from. Yes I am a patient of Irritable Bowel Syndrome and to add to that I AM A BIG FOODIE!

It was a friend’s wedding that I went to when I first experienced IBS. I had just arrived in the car and the stomach cramps kicked in. The next thing I know is the desperate urge to run to the restroom like a first prize winner of a marathon.

Despite me trying to run I started walking at a sloth’s pace and began finding the restroom. I couldn’t think straight at that time. I was trying to do everything that could stop this flare-up of IBS that I was experiencing. The possibility of diarrhea coming out before I reach the washroom was getting more than a 100% at that point.

As my luck was really testing me, I came to know that the washroom was on the second floor. I took the elevator and heard two girls talk about the yummy smoothie that they just had as the starter at the wedding. It made my jaws clench. As we reach the second floor I rush to the restroom and I push the door, and BOOM it’s locked!

Sweat started to drape from my forehead as I waited. Luckily the door opened and I ran inside. I sat on the seat and the hurricane of diarrhea is what I encounter next. My face looks like I have given birth, I am pale like a farmyard animal and my hair is stuck to my forehead. Before I leave I try and erase the evidence, I flush the toilet that happens in a very environmentally friendly manner and I leave the washroom feeling as if nothing happened.

Be More Woke and Know The Triggers!

I know a lot of you will be relating to my story and it is okay to have a disease that will stick with you till the day you die. But at the same time, it is necessary for you to know the major signs and symptoms of IBS. When you know the triggers that can flare up your diarrhea, it is very easy to minimize the effect that they might leave on your body. Of course, it is a different journey for everyone but one can learn to manage the triggers and prevent them as well. Shall we dive in then?

  1. Triggers for IBS Diarrhea

There is a list of food choices that you might take and is making things worse for your intestines and causing you diarrhea. Like,

  • Fiber intake, that is more than “too much” i.e. the skin of the fruits
  • Chocolate containing drinks, alcohol, and fructose
  • Junk and Fatty Foods
  • Dairy-related products like milk, yogurt, and cheese
  • Carbonated sodas and Drinks

2. Diet Triggers for IBS Constipation

Foods that can add to making the IBS Constipation worse include;

  • Avoid munching on processed foods like cookies and chips
  • Stay Away from Cereals and Bread made with refined grains
  • Carbonated Drinks, Alcohol, and Coffee are a BIG NO!
  • Step aside from High Protein/Low Fat Diet or Ketogenic Diet

3. Anxiety and Stress Triggers for IBS

It should be noticed that stress and anxiety do play a major role in causing IBS. The stress can come from,

Treatment Options

Always look for treatment options that are safe to use and are effective at the same time. One of the best treatments that not a lot of people know about is cupping therapy. There are of course other OTC medications available that can help you cure IBS effectively. Do take them by consulting a doctor first.

Wrapping it Up!

IBS can be traumatic for a lot of people and a lot more embarrassing to talk about. But the sad part is that it is still unknown to a lot of people to date. You have to take it easy to manage it well. Know your triggers to make it uncomplicated for yourself. Aside from changing your food choices and patterns, there are many other reasons that one should focus on. Do visit your doctor if the situation gets difficult to handle.

Stop stressing it over, like everything, THIS TOO SHALL PASS!!!

--

--