Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

How Your Cravings Can Work for You

Taking charge of your desires

Lainey Hitchman
5 min readJan 28, 2021

--

I’ve heard about many weird and wonderful cravings over the years, most of which are associated with pregnancy. When I was pregnant, I would make a slice of toast, smother it with butter, I’d layer that with some hp sauce and top it off with pickled onions and salt and pepper. I’ve also heard cravings being discussed by groups of dieters who have placed themselves on strict diets which seems to set them all on a longing for forbidden fruit. Only, let’s face it, it’s not usually a piece of fruit that any of us crave it’s chocolate, crisps, pizza or ice cream. We basically long for anything that has lots of sugar, carbs or calories.

You might be wondering, if cravings consist of the weird and wonderful, or foods which aren’t the best for those wanting to lose weight, how can they possibly work for you. Well, that depends on what you crave.

If I am craving something, I can usually see it in my mind’s eye. If it’s food, my mouth might start to water as I remember the food’s taste and texture. Perhaps, if I’m homesick, I might remember the atmosphere, the smell of rain or something else about home. In the moment of craving, it’s almost like you are able to feel it, taste it, touch it, smell it and hear it.

Now let’s talk about what you want for your life? Do you have a clear vision of what that is? Is it something so real to you that it’s almost tangible? When your vision is clear, it’s easier to work out the strategy you might need to get to where you want to go, do what you want to do or be who you want to be.

Once you know what you want you can figure out what steps you need to put in place to get there. Gerard Egan recommends using the C-R-A-V-E mnemonic to help check if you have an action plan which will work.

C — Control
You might equate control with will power, but that’s not what I’m getting at. When you put your goal in place, ask have I got a sensible strategy which is attainable?

It’s worth considering if there is anything that could stop you from staying on track. If you’re dieting, that might be having the right food in the house, or the wrong food out of the house. This is certainly true for me. We have a treat cupboard in our home, which I am tempted to visit too often, now it’s filled with healthy snacks. My husband has hidden the treats at my request, and we have one evening a week when we can have something from that hiding place.

If you’re exercising, do you need any equipment to make your dream happen? I’ve recently started an exercise programme that I had most of the equipment for, but a few items were missing. Thankfully, the instructor had an alternative for those without the right equipment. After 21 days of consistency on the new programme, I’m considering getting the ‘booty bands’ she recommended.

R — Relevance
We can come up with lots of ideas regarding how to reach our goals, but not all are sensible or useful. When I’m discouraged with my progress or dissatisfied with my body, I tend towards the extreme. I have to be incredibly careful to rein in this tendency and choose a more sensible, sustainable approach. It’s not about getting a quick fix, it’s about establishing healthy habits for a lifetime.

A — Attractiveness
It’s essential to assess how attractive your strategy is to you. If you don’t like the idea you’ve come up with, it will be tough to stick to. I have several friends who have been successful using the Fast 800 diet. I’ve seriously considered it, read up about it and tried to will myself to start it.

I haven’t.

I just can’t bring myself to reduce my calorie intake by that amount. The gains don’t outweigh the pain in this case. I’ve found another strategy which works much better for me. I’m minimising the quantity of refined carbs I consume. I’ve increased my water intake, exercise every day, and swap out sweet or savoury snacks for fruit. I’m not the sort of person who likes to follow a blow by blow dietary guide. I have some allergies which make most of those guides really challenging to follow. However, even before I developed allergies, the idea of someone else planning what I put into my mouth never appealed to me.

V — Values
Does the strategy that you’ve put in place align with the ideals you hold dear? I’ve already shared one of mine. I value doing something for my health that will be sustainable, I always wonder if a quick fix will be worth it or lead to other issues down the line. It’s challenging to do something you if don’t believe it.

If you’re trying to transform your shape for someone else but believe you don’t need to change, then you’re probably fighting a losing battle. Take a look at your reasons why you’ve established your goal. Ask yourself if there is any part of you that doesn’t believe in the process. If that’s the case, you probably need to review your goal and go back to the drawing board.

E — Environment

This is a biggy! If you’re trying to lose weight in a non-supportive environment, you’ll need to look for other ways to get the support and encouragement you need. Roy’s willingness to help me on my journey is a significant help, although I know ultimately it’s me who has to choose what I choose to eat. He doesn’t stand in the firing line if I insist I want to eat something that I’ve said I shouldn’t, but he encourages me by reminding me how well I’ve been doing. He also reminds me of how I feel after eating something that I have told myself I shouldn’t have. Getting your partner onside is a huge help!

The work environment might be another minefield. Biscuits, treats, cake, and coffee breaks can sabotage you. I’m well aware, while I’m writing this, that many people are currently working from home because of lockdown. Yes, I’m saying you’re sabotaging yourself. You don’t need to reward yourself with a biscuit for every hour you work! You can change your environment, take temptation out of the way.

If you’re still in an office environment, you might need to get more creative to remove yourself from the temptation. Planning is a big key, bring healthy snacks with you. If a vending machine is your nemesis, then leave your change at home.

If you want to get your cravings under control, remember you can C-R-A-V-E the right things and meet your goal!

--

--

Lainey Hitchman

Sharing about life, love, relationships and revelations. Author of Bringing Worlds Together, Adjusting Expectations and Improving Communication.