Whole Wheat Pancakes

Linda Forrester
Healthy Seasonal Cooking
3 min readOct 9, 2016

Fall Breakfast

So fluffy!

This is my basic “blank slate” pancake recipe, and depending on the season and what I have on hand I add some sort of fruit to the batter. My basic recipe began with Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes from Cooking Light, but I almost never have buttermilk on hand so I have substituted non-fat Greek plain yogurt, and over the years I have changed several other things.
Today we are up in the mountains and it is a brisk fall morning and I have a bunch of Fuji and Honey Crisp apples on hand so I made apple spice pancakes. They were really fluffy and with the apples and spices they reminded me of going to the cider mill in the fall while growing up in Michigan. Mmmm! Other variations I make are Pumpkin and dried (fruit juice sweetened) cranberries, banana, banana and blueberry, blueberry, etc… The possibilities are endless.

Shredded Apple

Ingredients:

• 1 ½ cup whole wheat flour
• 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
• 2 tablespoons of sugar (white, brown, coconut palm sugar, honey — they all work, use what you prefer)
• 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• 1 teaspoon cinnamon (I often add more or use 1–2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg)
• ½ teaspoon nutmeg
• ½ teaspoon salt
• ½ cup plain Greek yogurt
• 1 cup of non-fat milk (or whatever milk you prefer — coconut, almond, whole cow milk, etc)
• 2 eggs
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Add Fruit of your choice. Options can be:
• 1 banana mashed
• 1 banana mashed and 1 cup of blueberries
• 1 cup of canned pure pumpkin puree, pumpkin pie spice, dried cranberries
• 1 large apple grated (I keep the skin on), extra cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
• 1 cup of blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Mixing the wet and dry ingredients

Procedure:

1. In a large bowl add flour, flaxseed, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Stir with a whisk.
2. In a medium bowl combine the yogurt, eggs, milk and vanilla. Stir with a whisk. Add any fruit and stir.
3. Pour the liquid mixture into the dry mixture and gently combine. Don’t over mix.
4. Spoon batter onto a heated griddle that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Turn pancakes when tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Cook a couple more minutes on side two.
5. Top with butter if desired, and abundant fresh fruit.

Just starting to cook…
Finished!

--

--