Pitter Patter Paper Pauper

Pamper yourself with paper to persist through this pandemic.

Anjali A. Sarkar, PhD
Healthy Wealthy Wise
3 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Distressed. Disturbed. Dejected. Discordant. Discombobulated. Dystopic. Disjointed. Disagreeable. Distasteful.

That is a lot of dis- words to describe my state when I expect to be feeling enthralled. I have been trying to go paperless but the act of staying away from paper ungrounds my core.

The house is already overflowing with books and papers. I’ve double-rowed the shelves and corseted bulging sheaves to folders and metal cabinets. But I still produce more paper.

This weekend I bought two books in hardcover. One is Breath by James Nestor. I could’ve bought the Kindle version. I have a leatherbound fancy Kindle that I last used in 2014.

Or better still an audiobook. My ears are as attuned to audiobooks as firemen are to sirens. I always listen to audiobooks when I’m about my household chores or sketching.

That reminds me of something I meant to convey: sketching and audiobook listening go hand in hand. You’ll never find me extolling the virtues of multitasking or even bi-tasking. I’m all about focus. I’m a horse with blinkers on, at most times.

But I speak from experience when I say sketching and audiobook listening are activities that go…

--

--

Anjali A. Sarkar, PhD
Healthy Wealthy Wise

Scientist-artist-writer-yogi exploring truth and simplicity at the crossroads of science, art and philosophy. sarkaraa@gmail.com