Switching Choices

Conserving choices versus indexing discreet choices in the interest of progress

Anjali A. Sarkar, PhD
Healthy Wealthy Wise
3 min readNov 18, 2020

--

Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

Yes, today I had my breakfast, did my morning reading, and then started my freewriting session. This, so that I can time my activity and write uninterruptedly. My breath flows slow and soft as I write. I am not trying to speed up or consciously slow down. Nevertheless, I notice that my letters on the page are smaller — from the size of an immature beetle to a plump ant. Does writing in a small sized lettering really denote an increase of control and concentration? I would not know about that until I’ve conducted some more experiments.

I may wonder but I don’t stop my writing even though my shoulder is still a bit sore. I must keep going so that I can time my three-page session accurately.

I have been thinking a lot about my breath lately and my morning Pranayama sessions are elastically extending to reflect my mind space. There must be some truth to the notion that what you focus on grows. Unless it is a seedling or a pre-boiled kettle, of course. Earlier to get matters over quickly I started off with the seated Pranayamas directly and ended with a short Shavasana before I started my asana practice. Now I start with a reclining Pranayama practice, then do the seated ones, end with a short Yoga Nidra and then do seated stretches…

--

--

Anjali A. Sarkar, PhD
Healthy Wealthy Wise

Scientist-artist-writer-yogi exploring truth and simplicity at the crossroads of science, art and philosophy. sarkaraa@gmail.com