Autopilot

Tamera Lanay
Heard Poetry
Published in
1 min readJul 9, 2021
Photo by Mario Azzi on Unsplash

I don’t want to be in my body.

The parts I don’t love I wish I could disembody.

This disease cannot be fought off by an antibody.

Im macaroni. I’m mesh. I’m an old soul full of dead flesh.

I’m in limbo. I’m stuck. I have baggage as full of a dump truck.

I’m searching for a rainbow to find good luck.

I’m a robot. I’m on autopilot.

I’m running low on mileage and the sound of my engine is quiet.

I’m a parasite. I’m a host. There are Jesus freaks inflicting me with the Holy Ghost.

I’m unwatered dryland. I’m an island. I’m an alarm system without warning sirens.

I’m a wannabe nomad. I’m not the baby bust generation like my Dad.

I’m a self-proclaimed woman with a pen and a notepad.

Take me out of this world. I’m a twenty-something with a lust for life beyond the latest fad.

Instagram famous — the cure to my daily hiatus.

Being online disrupts my saneness. It taught our youth without recognition they are nameless.

On this green sofa, it is midnight in Fort Worth.

I am a child within an adult to unearth.

If God is for real, awake me for my rebirth.

--

--