Board Game

Tamera Lanay
Heard Poetry
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2021
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

In this market of women, I became his commodity.

I tried to fit in his make-believe world; this realist was an anomaly.

I wasn’t his version of perfection.

He was a master manipulator at withholding affection.

On Bruce’s Beach, he hit me with a love bomb.

He proclaimed I would fall in love with him like he was God speaking from heaven on an intercom.

I fell in love with this unbalanced chemical bond.

He insisted God put him on this earth to spread his love.

He convinced himself he was God’s gift sent from above.

He had the inability to cry. Emotions were a third eye.

He lived by toxic positivity. I became the comedic jokes to his insensitivity.

He implied my anxiety made me a slave to self-captivity.

Karma gave him his first panic attack. I would not wish this disorder on my worst enemy but for this episode, can I get a playback?

Interactions for him were superficial.

He wanted to love without attachment as if love isn’t sacrificial.

He feasted on his false sense of self.

I was uncertain of which version of him would come off the shelf.

He saw my success as competition. He did not want me to outshine him in fear of receiving recognition.

He saw my feelings as a weakness. He treated my inner child without meekness.

He inflicted me with self-doubt. He was afraid I would diss his name and tarnish his clout.

He got bored with the relationship. He claimed he was an expert at love as if he knew the means of true companionship.

When shit hit the fan, he abandoned ship.

He justified there was no compatibility. He feared I was onto his ego fragility.

He ruined my birthday without showing responsibility.

HAPPY FUCKING BIRTHDAY!

I was another woman scorned for her hostility.

He does not deserve the grace of my respectability.

We are not one in the same. I seek to live truthfully and he chased fame.

To be somebody does not mean the world needs to know your name.

He used for his amusement. He is not God.

Please stop playing with human lives like it is a board game.

--

--