My Childhood Home

Tamera Lanay
Heard Poetry
Published in
4 min readJul 19, 2021
Photo by Emily Park on Unsplash

White and brown vertical lines decorate the exterior

Palm tree sloping held down by a rope to stop its fall

Rose bushes of an assortment of colors: pink, red and yellow grandpa would cut for us to give to our teachers on appreciation day

Grandma perched in front of the kitchen window listening to the gossip on alder st

Root beer floats and baked Mac cheese were my favorite pastime

Grandpa’s bird, Cookie, became my morning alarm to awake to chirping

Grandma sat in her familiar spot on the couch in the den yelling and hollering at the TV watching a Lakers game

My little ears could hear her, “Kobe, that cocky son of a bitch!”

All day in the same sitting position, knitting, crocheting, stitching — she taught me the jack of her trade

The couch became indented with her large body

Orange and grape soda cans filled the recycle bin making my brother’s teeth rotten

Grandpa’s famous jerky slow cooking in his study piled with hoarding objects

Hummingbirds come to visit under the big, overgrown orange tree

I would look for four-leaved clovers to find fairies near

Stretches of a rainbow in the distance and I wondered would gold be at the end

Brown paint stripping from the handmade patio my grandpa built

A man of few words confined to his study and solitude

Grandma; a woman of fiery presence and hot-tongued talks

Her bed brought me comfort to scare away the nightmares

Grandma anxiously picked her face; perhaps I picked up my bad skin habits from her

She read sappy, poorly-written romance novels maybe to escape her lovelessness

They slept in separate rooms without utterance of I love you

50+ years of marriage; a former Sunday school teacher and navy veteran who used to write love letters to each other during World War II

When did the love become lost? When did the spark die out?

Big bowls of jello for hot summer days; hot chocolate with mini marshmallows for winter nights

Canadian bacon with grape jelly toast; grandma’s go-to breakfast

My first sip of red wine partook in this house out of curiosity

I hated the bitter taste; in adulthood wine brings me solace

Strawberry pop-tarts in the morning; car rides with grandpa to school

Baths in tubs with soapy water my dad would wash my long mane

Hearing daddy’s work boots stomp on the creaky wood; my favorite time of day

Bland TV dinners on folding trays in the evening dusk

Daddy’s calloused hands filled with Pink hair lotion to caress my tender scalp

Brothers fighting over the play station console

Little terrors to disrupt the peace and quiet

Grandpa’s long strides down the hallway for a cold can of beer

Photo albums piled in the hall closet filled with picture perfect memories

The photographer who captured life’s little moments

Our biggest soccer fans on the sidelines; grandma shouting profanities; grandpa taking pictures

Grandma; the reason I am a lover of books

Daddy passed down his talent of the eloquence of words

Cigarette smells in the air from late night inhales from my dad’s lips

Snoring loudly on the sofa couch with my brothers curled at his right side

Grandma’s smile on Christmas morning when we opened presents from Santa

String-cheese and a glass of milk left the night before

Grocery-store bought birthday cakes on birthdays

Grandma’s slippers gliding across the floor with heavy feet in her nightgown

My childhood home you are missed

The only place that felt like home

Safety enveloped the white walls

A sense of warmth and wholeness where my inner child ran free

The summer before sixth grade, my safety net was pulled from under me

Farewell the home that resurrected life back into me

The home that gave me a big backyard to breathe

The home where I can recall ever being the real me

She calls me by her name to find my way back

My childhood home you are the remembrance of hope

Curled in fetal position on my cold bathroom floor

It is you, my childhood home, I meditate on

You are my angel to save me from the attack of my past demons

Now the home is invaded by strangers; stone cold gray and modern

It has lost its character; it has lost its touch

My childhood home you are forever captured like a photograph in my memory

My childhood home, do you remember me?

--

--