Rage

Tamera Lanay
Heard Poetry
Published in
Jul 19, 2021
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Screams reverberate off my pillow

Waves of emotion drown me

My body cannot billow

Anger radiates off my skin

Tension carries on my back

Passed down from my kin

Passion ignites my fire

The woman who walked before me

I aspire

Rage boils in my blood

Pain seething

It is a flash flood

A herd stomping on my heart

A stampede

Generations live within me

Unleash the chains

Let my ancestors be freed

My ancestor’s wildest dreams

My children

The trauma will live in their bloodstream

Lost is the American dream

Tired spirits out of breath from unheard screams

From enslaved to murdered on the street

Let my people be freed

Stolen of our humanity

Fear breeds our insanity

Redemption for this land will be my

undoing

--

--