That He, Too May Be Comforted

Andrew J. Mair
Hear Hymn
Published in
4 min readNov 25, 2022

--

In the parable of the Good Samaritan, Jesus describes what it is to be a good neighbor.

Depending on my current level of compassion, I can relate to each character. Sometimes I relate to the Levite or the Priest that walks by without offering to help. And sometimes, I aspire to the Samaritan. But I rarely consider how the man who fell among thieves felt about the whole affair. When, in reality, I have had more experiences when others have served me than the reverse.

I wonder if the man afterward became inclined to serve others. I wonder the same thing about myself. Do I show appreciation for service by serving others?

Grace was a young girl of eight when she first attempted to express herself through poetry. Instead of supporting her efforts, her family made her feel infantile.

She stated, “I never tried to write after that until love, and romance and a home came to me. That quickened and awakened the desire to write poetry again.” (The Human Side of Greatness, 1940)

After the birth of her first child, Grace fell ill, and she became immobile. She was confined to various hospitals, and her illness and suffering spanned several years. During the time of her illness, she began writing poetry again.

“The thought kept coming to me,” She stated. “I would like to write poetry that will help others who are suffering as I am.” (The Human Side of Greatness, 1940)

Grace Noll Crowell’s uplifting poetry found its way into many popular periodicals, and in 1935 she published her first full book of poetry, White Fire, and became the Poet Laureate of Texas, a position she held for three years.

In 1936 she penned a poem that exemplifies her ideals. Her poem, “Because of Thy Great Bounty,” is written from the point of view of someone with great blessings and chooses to share what they have received with others.

Grace inspires me because during a time of suffering where she was dependent on the service of other people she sought to uplift others. If Grace was the object of the care of the Good Samaritan, she would defiantly carry on the service toward others.

She wrote:

Because I have been given much, I too must give.

Because of thy great bounty, Lord, each day I live

I shall divide my gifts from thee

With every brother that I see

Who has the need of help from me.

There is something profound expressed when one reads the poem’s words and remembers that the writer has a claim to complain about her suffering yet chooses a different expression.

Because I have been sheltered, fed by thy good care

I cannot see another’s lack and I not share

My glowing fire, my loaf of bread,

My roof’s save shelter overhead

That he too might be comforted.

Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf said, “Over the years, I have had the sacred opportunity to meet with many people whose sorrows seem to reach the very depths of their soul. In these moments, I have listened to my beloved brothers and sisters and grieved with them over their burdens. I have pondered what to say to them, and I have struggled to know how to comfort and support them in their trials.” (Uchtdorf, Grateful in Any Circumstances)

He also said, “We can choose to be grateful, no matter what. This type of gratitude transcends whatever is happening around us. It surpasses disappointment, discouragement, and despair. It blooms just as beautifully in the icy landscape of winter as it does in the pleasant warmth of summer.” (Uchtdorf, Grateful in Any Circumstances)

Just like Grace Noll Crowell, we can choose to see the blessing of our Heavenly patronage even as we dwell in hardship.

My father lost his leg due to complications from injuries inflicted from serving our country in Vietnam, and then later lost his other leg due to illness. All my life, I witnessed my father come and go from depression and learn to become as independent as he could. Before he lost his second leg, he won awards as a Para-Alpine skier; he served on several state committees for people with disabilities, returned to school later in life, received a degree, and eventually became a teacher. But as independent as he was, there were times life compelled him to rely on the service of others.

Our family has been the recipient of many acts of service from members of my family and community. My father’s reaction was always to keep his eye open for opportunities to offer service to others. It is a legacy to which I aspire.

It is not a good idea to stand over someone suffering and tell them they need to find a way to serve others. First of all, it’s kind of a jerky move if you do. But secondly, it may not be received very well. It is far better to strive to remove the burden of suffering and allow that service to work within them. You see, just like everything, when it comes to God’s commandments, the only way the principles of righteousness can be applied is to yourself.

A famous saying, often attributed to St. Francis of Assisi, reads, “Preach the gospel at all times and if necessary, use words.”

Because I have been blessed by thy great love dear Lord;

I’ll share thy love again According to thy word;

I shall give love to those in need,

I’ll show that love by word and deed;

Thus, shall my thanks be thanks in deed.

https://youtu.be/Aj341gWW0vg

--

--