6 Ways "Pig Butchering" Can Teach People Conversation Skills

Pig Butchering scams have fleeced lonely, single people out of 75 billion dollars. It's time to turn the tables on the scammers and learn their conversation tricks.

Carlyn Beccia
Heart Affairs
Published in
11 min readMar 8, 2024

--

pig butchering
Caricature of the County Hampshire | Public Domain

I don’t use social media or dating apps. Thieves hate me. They never know when to rob my house.

However, after my mom died, I had to post her funeral information for anyone we forgot to call. Social media was a necessary evil to accomplish that horrid task.

But after I posted my mom's obituary, something strange happened. I received daily cryptic messages from unrecognizable phone numbers.

One day, a beautiful Asian lady named Anna sent her photo and texted me, "Hello, Carlyn, It's Anna. Thank you for the gift."

Of course, anyone's kneejerk Good Samaritan response is to tell Miss Anna she has the wrong number. But once I did…the chit-chat followed. And if I don't have time for insipid small talk with online daters who never want to meet because they are secretly married, I sure as heck don't have time for Anna's jibber jabber.

Hours after Anna's message, I got another strange message: "Hello, Carlyn. It's Lisa. We have not spoken in a while. Is…

--

--

Carlyn Beccia
Heart Affairs

Author & illustrator. My latest books — 10 AT 10, MONSTROUS: THE LORE, GORE, & SCIENCE, and THEY LOST THEIR HEADS. Contact: CarlynBeccia.com