Marriage/Relationships

A Perfect Wedding Couldn’t Save My Relationship

We were all trying to keep the things swept under the rug firmly in place.

Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2023

--

Photo by Lori DeJong on Unsplash

Rustling palm trees. Floral aromas floating on the breeze. A looming pink sunset emerges from the horizon.

This was the scene for my first wedding.

My parents were there. My closest friends were there. I had my hair done. I had my makeup done. I even wore a matching flower in my hair.

My wedding outfit only cost about $100. It was simple, bohemian. I may have even taken a puff from a joint before the ceremony. That was island life. It was Key West, Florida after all.

My memories of this day play out like some sort of fairytale nostalgia. However, the relationship and marriage that followed were anything but that. It was a nightmare of abuse and sorrow.

I married my first husband in Key West, Florida, in a historic, garden setting. The wedding ceremony went off without a hitch. My parents were even able to fly in from Canada and my three best friends were my bridesmaids.

The after-party was lovely and there was so much laughter. Our three-day honeymoon in Key Largo which directly followed was pretty great as well.

--

--

Michelle Brown
Heart Affairs

Coffee Shop Gypsy. Word Practitioner. Editor of Heart Affairs + more... Like what I write? You can find more at my Substack https://ponderingnook.substack.com/