All the Red Flags I Ignored Before I Got Married

How do you balance compromise against deal-breakers?

Jenn M. Wilson
Heart Affairs
Published in
7 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Photo by Wu Jianxiong on Unsplash

Do you know what we should teach kids in school? Do you know what would save them from financial ruin, poor career choices, and heartbreak?

If we taught them to follow their instincts.

The red flags before my marriage weren’t always subtle. Some of them covered my face like a kidnapper abducting me and throwing me in the back of a van. Still, I ignored them.

I’m going to blame my upbringing on my inability to make good judgment calls. Growing up in an ultra-religious, strict household, you’re raised to follow rules and not question them. When you defy the expectations, you’re met with such shock from others that you learn to distrust your own choices.

If only I acknowledged those red flags, I probably would have saved myself from almost two decades of marital heartache.

I was a clean freak and he was a slob

Opposite attract, right? I learned the hard way that doesn’t apply to hygiene and cleanliness.

If there is an extreme imbalance in how two people live with respect to doing and maintaining…

--

--

Jenn M. Wilson
Heart Affairs

My midlife crisis and adventures along the way. I write because in real life my humor is allegedly too sarcastic and inappropriate. MediumNinjaGirl@gmail.com