Crossing The Line: Ali Wong’s Comedy, Marriage, and The Art of Self-Exposure.

The raw and unfiltered world of Ali Wong’s ‘Don Wong’ on Netflix.

Eva Grape
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2023

--

Image generated via MidJourney.

I love Ali Wong. I find her so relatable on so many levels, and like me, I am sure many of you out there, self-made women who worked your asses off to get the power, money, and respect, share my admiration for this woman.

However, as a creator who uses her husband as a topic, I cringed many times during Ali’s “Don Wong” Netflix stand-up comedy, which I just recently managed to see, although it was released in 2022. After finishing it, I went to straight Google to ask who this understanding man was, Ali Wong’s husband, because he must have been a helluva guy to love her like that.

In less than a minute, I learned that Mr. Justin Hakuta is actually Ali’s ex-husband, so he was her husband before the divorce they announced in 2022.

I was sad to read about the divorce but not surprised.

With the “Don Wong” show still fresh in my mind, I thought the divorce was just a natural consequence of the entire show’s theme of “how to be as explicit as possible that you want a divorce”.

In retrospect, after reading about their divorce, I understood the show differently.

--

--

Eva Grape

Side-hustler mom writes about marriage, relationships at large and psychology.