Dating Success Is Not A “Numbers Game”

Online dating sucks because people don’t read bios.

John Pucay
Heart Affairs
Published in
5 min readMar 18, 2024

--

Photo by Hendo Wang on Unsplash

Online dating is awful. That’s something a lot of people seem to agree on. But it wasn’t until I started getting back to dating apps again that I thought: Was it always THIS awful?!

Recently, I’ve been out of the dating pool to finish a passion project. When that was done, I reinstalled the Bumble dating app. For mysterious reasons, that app seems to give me better-quality matches.

I uploaded a couple of photos and added interest tags. Then I wrote my bio:

“Creative exchanges and talks about passion. Let’s geek out on movies, books, and award-winning PC games. Oh, and if you open with a plain ‘hi’ or GIF message, I’ll assume you’re here for a hookup (no shame in that!) because you didn’t bother to read my bio:)”

Yes, my bio is long in the same way that YouTube videos are long, compared to TikTok videos. But I wanted to see who among my matches would read it.

To warm up, I started with Bumble BFF — the app’s make-friends-not-hookups section. Bumble BFF works just like Bumble Dating: People swipe left or right based on the person’s photos.

Since people on BFF are looking for friends, they’d at least read my bio, right? They’d look at my…

--

--

John Pucay
Heart Affairs

Author of Karinderya Love Songs; a 2020s dating and sex literary fiction novel. More details at johnpucay.com. Or https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B3WF1YF8/