DATING

Do All Men Decide Within 15 Minutes If They Want To Date Someone?

Or was it just the guys I met?

kasey sparks
Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Photo by Marjan Grabowski on Unsplash

Online dating hadn’t been working for me. So after my number of first dates exceeded my number of years on the planet I decided it was time to take a break and do a bit of evaluation.

After all of those meetings and no partner to show for it, was this really the best way for me to spend my time trying to find someone?

Most of the time I found it challenging to determine who someone was purely through their bio or texting. It was difficult to decipher someone’s tone through their messages.

Is this guy being funny or sarcastic? Does he not read his messages before hitting send or does he really not know the difference between their, they’re, and there?

Maybe he’s not detailed oriented? It was hard to know for sure.

To really get a sense of who someone was, I needed face-to-face time with him. So if a guy didn’t seem completely crazy, I asked to meet in person fairly early on. I didn’t want to spend a crap ton of time endlessly texting someone only to meet them and think, Oh my goodness no. Why did I spend so much time texting this guy?

--

--

kasey sparks
Heart Affairs

making mistakes · gathering lessons · sparking curiosity · unearthing guidance in life's illuminating moments · wrangling words since 2017