Photo by Elahe Motamedi on Unsplash

From Wife To Partner

How this little change made all the difference.

--

I caught myself doing something new the other day. I introduced myself and my partner to another couple.

I said, “This is my partner, S, and I’m Tom. Pleased to meet you.”

You might read that and say, “he didn’t call her his wife, what’s the big deal?”

On the surface, the two terms may seem interchangeable but below the surface, it was a major shift for me.

She thought that marriage was a bad deal for women.

I made a conscious point to introduce my wife as my partner. That’s a huge step in my thinking of relationship dynamics. It’s more of an egalitarian approach which under my monogamous relationship with her has changed our lives for the better.

Kids, Housework, Life, WTF?

I was traveling with a colleague to a customer site in Toronto back in late 2019. This was pre-Covid and I was on a plane at least once a week back then. Sometimes I’d joke that I was ‘bi’, bicoastal that is.

My colleague was a single woman in her 40’s and on top of her game professionally. She had a rich social life and was financially secure. The only thing that she wanted was to find a man to have a…

--

--

Thomas Ott
Heart Affairs

Startup guy, civil engineer, hyperdimensional writer, and maker. Dogs love me.