Self/Relationships

How Being A Mistress Changed My Perception Of Marriage

It changed everything.

Heart Affairs
Published in
4 min readJan 5, 2019

--

I did something I had judged others for doing in the past. (Source: Unsplash)

It takes two. It’s give and take. It’s all about commitment. Those are a few of the slogans I’ve heard people use in regards to relationships and marriage.

While I agree that all of those things may be important and true, sometimes we simply fall short in keeping up with those standards.

I never considered myself to be the type of person who would fall short at anything that really mattered to me. I had integrity, I was loyal, and I was determined.

By my late twenties, I was already divorced. The relationship and marriage had been abusive and it took me years to extract myself from it. After the divorce was over and I had moved away from my ex-husband, things felt as if they were finally getting back on track. I had a great job, I didn’t have children yet. I was a free, independent woman.

And then I slipped.

I did something I had judged others for doing in the past and something that I had always said I would never do.

I had an affair with someone who was married.

The person I did this with was a repeat offender in the cheating department. They had no visible qualms about it. But I…

--

--

Heart Affairs

Coffee Shop Gypsy. Word Practitioner. Editor of Heart Affairs + more... Like what I write? You can find more at my Substack https://ponderingnook.substack.com/