I Just Realized Something About Dating Post-divorce

And it should’ve hardly been the epiphany that it was.

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Heart Affairs
Published in
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Photo by Israelzin Oliveira: On Pexels

I just realized something about dating post-divorce. It shouldn’t have been the epiphany that it was. It should have been obvious. Let me explain, as with all epiphanies, I arrived at it.

It’s been a few weeks for my divorced girls.

I mean brutal.

One friend’s boyfriend broke up with her before he took a trip. She discovered he had taken his old girlfriend with him. I have another friend who found her boyfriend with a woman.

And when I say, ‘found’ I mean in the traditional sense.

I’ll be writing that story next because you can’t make up what happened there.

Yet another friend is struggling with another relationship heartache.

It’s been a few weeks, as I said. Some tears, some anger, and a few WTF’s??!! Beautiful, kind, nice women whose heads and hearts have been spinning. My high school years weren’t filled with this much drama and excitement.

While I was exercising a few of my own WTF’s, I had my epiphany.

I should’ve been realistic.

There’s going to be heartache.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Heart Affairs

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com