Maybe Your Ex-Husband Is Dead

Poppy Nagano
Heart Affairs

--

Image from Wikimedia Commons

So, my ex-husband lives in Europe and comes back to the US to work in the town I live in a few times a year. The problem is that he sometimes comes back to work in the building I have to work in occasionally as well. When I have to go to that building on rare occasions, I really prefer not to see him.

I have friends who have amazing marriages and still get divorced and they are really great friends after divorce. That wasn’t the story of my marriage. I didn’t have a good marriage, getting married was a mistake, and the divorce wasn’t a nightmare like some divorces I have seen, but it was scary to get divorced even if I really needed to exit that relationship.

My ex-husband’s true colors really came out at the end of the marriage and even more in divorce.

After getting divorced, it was only then that I started to grapple with what the marriage was, because there was so much insidious gaslighting and abuse during the marriage, that I was in a constant haze, not to mention a chemically induced, self-medicating alcohol haze as well.

I had to divorce FIRST and then figure out the marriage. And the more I put two and two together, the more I realized I was lucky to get out alive. Being friends or having any sort of relationship with my ex-husband was not something I wanted. Although on one threatening phone call he said…

--

--

Poppy Nagano
Heart Affairs

Researcher, cat mom, heirloom vegetable obsessed gardener.